OCAD University Archives

*Donations and records transfers to the Archives are paused for collections management purposes. Reproduction requests are also paused for the time being.*

The Archives is responsible for the safekeeping of official records that document OCAD University and its predecessor bodies’ legacy and contribution to art education and student life in Ontario since 1876; as well as selected private records associated with Canadian art and design that relate directly to the teaching and curriculum at the University. We serve staff, faculty, students and the public, as well as local, national, and international researchers.  

 In keeping with its mandate, the Archives:   

• Acquires, arranges, describes and preserves primary records of legal, fiscal, evidential and historical or research value.   
• Provides access to the records for the purposes of reference and research to faculty, staff, alumni and students of OCAD, and the community at large as authorized by applicable University policies and Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy legislation.  
• Increases awareness of the value of archives for teaching and research purposes.   
• Facilitates efficient records management practices throughout the University.   

Land Acknowledgement 

OCAD University acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Mississauga of the Credit, the Haudenosaunee, the Anishinaabe and the Huron-Wendat, who are the original owners and custodians of the land on which we live, work and create.

Contact the University Archives:

Phone: 1(416)977-6000 x273

Email: archives@ocadu.ca, mbognar@ocadu.ca

Images: 

Zimmerman, Jessica. Archive Stacks. 2020. OCAD U Archives, Toronto.