Skip to Main Content

OCAD University Archives

This is a guide to the OCAD University Archives.

Our Collections

The OCAD University Archives is currently working to put its complete finding aids online. In the meantime, here are some of the materials we have in our archival holdings:  

  • Course calendars and prospectuses.
  • Yearbooks and annuals.
  • Graduation and awards programs.
  • Student publications.
  • School publications.
  • Posters and pamphlets.
  • Meeting minutes.
  • Committee reports.
  • Event and exhibition ephemera
  • Photographs
  • Promotional material.
  • Governance records.
  • Biography and subject files.
  • Newspaper clippings.
  • Ontario Society of Artists exhibition catalogues.
  • Royal Canadian Academy of Arts exhibition Catalogues.

        And more!

Images:

Group of Seven's Arthur Lismer's class. 1920’s. RG 34. PH138/57_004_367_039. OCAD U Archives, Toronto.  

Ontario College of Art. College Calendar. 1918. RG.10.1. OCAD U Archives. https://archive.org/details/prospectusofont1819onta (Links to an external site.)

Life drawing class, Ontario School of Art. The Grange. 1911. Item 703K. Fonds 1244. City of Toronto Archives. 

Ontario College of Art Report of Examiners, 1918. RG 8, Series m/m, Council Meetings Ledgers #1 (Nov 1916-Oct 1919). OCAD U Archives, Toronto. 

What isn't in the archives

We do not collect the following materials:

  • Published books--those are in the library.
  • Original artwork--that is in the University's galleries.
  • Records of student marks, financial accounts or old exam papers. For information about these records, contact the Office of the Registrar.