OCAD University Archives

*Please note the Archives are available by appointment only. Contact the Archivist, Madeleine Bognar, for inquiries.

How to use the OCAD U Archives

The best way to get started with the archives is simply to reach out! Students, faculty, staff, and external researchers are all welcome to visit the OCAD U Archives by making an appointment.* 

Please contact the Archivist, Madeleine Bognar (mbognar@ocadu.ca or ext. 273), to ask questions about your research and/or to book your visit. This way we ensure that resources on your topic are available. We are here to help connect you to material!  

Quick Facts about Access

• To provide you with the best service, access is by appointment only.
• We are located at RHB 230 Richmond Street West, on the eighth floor (accessible by elevator) in Visual Resources & Special Collections. Click here for campus and building maps. Click here to for OCAD U's interactive map.
• The Archives are open Monday - Thursday. These hours are subject to change based on the the Library Services schedule. Please contact   the Archivist to make an appointment.
• Our building and offices are secured through "authorized card access". Meaning you may not be able to enter without first speaking to security or other OCAD U personnel. This is to help keep our one-of-a-kind collections safe.
• All researchers will be asked to sign a Research Agreement. This will outline policies of the Archives as well as publication and copyright information for researchers.

Reading Room Policies 

Unlike library books, archival records are often one-of-a-kind materials. They cannot be replaced if they are lost or damaged. Consequently, we have some rules to keep our materials safe.

• Archival materials can only be viewed at the OCAD University Archives. They do not circulate.
• To protect the documents, there is no food or drink permitted in the Archives reading area.
• You may use a pencil or a laptop to take notes. However, there are no pens permitted in the reading area.
• Always handle archival materials with clean hands.
• Keep archival materials in their original order. Maintain the order of items within a file and files within a box. The archivist has acid free bookmarks available to help you keep track of papers.

Accessibility Services 

The OCAD U Archives is committed to providing equitable access to services and collections for all students, faculty and staff at the University. Please speak to us about alternative access to facilities and/or services - we are often able to make resources available in alternate format**

**While archives, rare books, and special collections materials are exempt from the AODA requirements of the IASR, the Archives will strive to provide alternative formats services to students, faculty, and staff within the parameters of its capacity and resources.