*Donations and records transfers to the Archives are paused for collections management purposes. Reproduction requests are also paused for the time being.*
Digital reproduction of archival materials held by OCAD U is available upon request from the University Archives. Requests will be subject to review for copyright concerns.
All digital reproduction requests will adhere to the Fee Schedule:
Self-Service Copying:
Researchers are permitted to use their own digital camera, phone, or iPad to make copies of records in the archives. It is not permitted to bring in your own scanning equipment to reproduce records. Researchers will read and sign a Research Agreement that will outline terms and conditions for any reproductions.
Publications:
The Archives holds a number of publications. Researchers may request digital copies of publications in the archives for research purposes. The fees for these requests are as follows:
Full Publications:
|
Internal – Already Digitized Materials |
Internal – Materials not yet Digitized |
External – Already Digitized Materials
|
External – Materials not yet Digitized |
|
$0 |
$10.00 *This fee is waived if the internal party owns the copyright of the material and is depositing/donating the publication to our collections.
|
$10.00 per publication
|
$20.00 |
Textual Records:
Researchers may request digital copies of textual materials from the archives for research purposes. The fees for these requests are as follows:
|
Internal – Already Digitized Materials |
Internal – Materials not yet Digitized |
External – Already Digitized Materials
|
External – Materials not yet Digitized |
|
$0 |
$1.00 for the first page of a document and $0.50 for each additional page.
|
$1.00 for the first page of a document and $0.50 for each additional page.
|
$5.00 for the first page of a document and $1.00 for each additional page. |
Photographic Materials:
The Archives holds a multitude of photographs. Researchers may request digital copies of photographs in the archives for research purposes. The fees for these requests are as follows:
|
Internal – Already Digitized Materials |
Internal – Materials not yet Digitized |
External – Already Digitized Materials
|
External – Materials not yet Digitized |
|
$0 |
$10.00 |
$25.00
|
$50.00 |
Copyright:
The University Archives at OCAD U may not be the copyright holder of images or documents in its collection. For this reason, responsibility for infringement of copyright or other rights is assumed by the user, who is fully responsible for obtaining permission for use from the copyright holder.
HST:
As reproduction services are a service provided by OCAD U that reside outside of the normal day-to-day activities of the institution, they are subject to HST taxation. This tax rate is 13%, of which 5% is federal and 8% is provincial. This tax will be applied to all charges for reproduction services undertaken by the OCAD University Archives.
