This is a union list maintained by the National Gallery of Canada that identifies the location of records about Canadian artists, including many members of the OCA/OCAD community.
The Ontario Society of Artists
This page has links to the locations where the historical documents, catalogues and artwork of the Ontario Society of Artists have been archived. Many OCA and OCAD artists have been members of the OSA over the years.
The newsletter of the Arts and Letters Club of Toronto from 1908 to the present. Many professors and alumni of the OCA and OCAD can be found here too.
Toronto Local History Collections in the Toronto Public Library
Online information about our city, organized by neighbourhood. Our school is located in Kensington-Grange.
Digital Archive: Toronto Public Library
Historical photos, maps and books about Toronto available online. This can provide helpful background information about Toronto's past, as well as examples of historical advertising.
Digitized Toronto newspapers at the Toronto Public Library
Databases of articles from the Globe and Mail from 1844 to 2014 and the Toronto Star from 1894 to 2015. These databases require a TPL library card to access. They are a good supplement to OCAD University Archives' press clipping collection.
Via PressReader, access issues of NOW Magazine from 1981 to the present. NOW frequently covers exhibitions and events in Toronto's art world.
INK - ODW Newspaper Collection
Local newspapers from across Ontario digitized online. This database is helpful for finding information about artists from outside Toronto.
This art inventory discovery page allows users to search inventories of artists and share their work. Contributors include artists and staff from OCAD U. Inquiries about artworks and purchasing are available through the database.
Collective City Video Database
"Collective City traces the history of artist generated galleries and collectives that operated as alternative exhibition venues in Toronto from the late 1980’s to the present day. This project shows, over the course of several short videos and transcripts, how a movement that started as a group of renegade artist collectives exhibiting their work in temporary spaces eventually evolved into the sustainable artist collective galleries we are familiar with today."
Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC)
"SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context) is a free, online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another. Users can locate archival collections and related resources held at cultural heritage institutions around the world."
"The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites and more."
Photographs
Photographic Identification: http://www.graphicsatlas.org/
Housing and Care of Photographic Materials: https://www.loc.gov/preservation/care/photo.html
Video
Video Materials Identification: https://www.archives.gov/preservation/formats/video-identify-formats.html
Film
Film Based Photographic Materials Identification: https://www.nps.gov/museum/publications/conserveogram/14-09.pdf
Film Preservation Guide: https://www.filmpreservation.org/preservation-basics/the-film-preservation-guide
Archives
Housing Enclosures for Archival Records: https://www.archives.gov/preservation/storage/specs-housing-exhibition-2015-current.html
