OCAD University Archives

*Donations are on pause until further notice for collections management upkeep.

If you are moving offices, cleaning up, graduating, or simply feel as though you have material that would benefit from archival preservation, please reach out! 

The work of OCAD’s staff, faculty, alumni, and students forms an essential part of the University’s institutional memory. These records chronicle OCAD’s education, teaching, and research missions and document not only the development of the University, but the progression of scholarly and creative practice across a wide range of disciplines. These documents bear testimony both individual and institutional roles in provincial, national, and international art and design education.  

Overall, donating your records to us ensures the inherent documentary memory and heritage will be preserved for the use and benefit of future generations. 

In addition, records accepted into the archival collection will be: 

• Organized by an archivist according to professional best practices and standards.  
• Re-housed in acid-free file folders and containers to better preserve them.  
• Managed and accessed in our secured university quarters.  
• Communicated and shared with researchers through a variety of platforms and formats.   

The Archives will be giving priority to records documenting:

• Governance
• Student annuals and publications not already held by the Archives
• Biographical information on key historical figures
• Administration 
• Select images and event materials
• Select promotional materials 
• Select program specific materials deemed historically relevant

All donations must be accompanied by a Records Transfer Form or Deed of Gift, as well as a Records Transfer Item List. Please speak to the Archivist if you have further questions. 

The Archives at OCAD U aims to collect as many historically relevant documents as possible to provide the fullest access to the historical record of the University and its predecessor bodies. However, relevance of materials to the collection and collections space may restrict what the Archivist accepts into the collection. If your documents are not deemed suitable for the OCAD U collection the Archivist will strive to provide suggestions and advice for how to move forward in preserving your documents.