Explores depictions of the natural world, from sixteenth century manuscripts to eighteenth and nineteenth century collections and catalogues to the work of self-taught nineteenth century naturalists to twentieth and twenty-first century artists' books.
"Artists and scientists jointly explore previously unseen and unknown empirical and theoretical objects. [This] book suggests ways in which art and science can draw inspiration from one another." -- book jacket
The aesthetic mind" breaks new ground in bringing together empirical sciences and philosophy to enhance our understanding of aesthetics and the experience of art. An eminent international team of experts presents new research in philosophy, psychology, neuroscience, and social anthropology: they explore the roles of emotion, imagination, empathy, and beauty in this realm of human experience, ranging over visual and literary art, music, and dance.
Step #2a: Ebooks
Search for ebooks in the OCAD U Library's online collections
Full text access to peer-reviewed journal articles from social science, science, engineering, materials, architectural design journals. Journal article coverage is typically 1997 - present.
Contains issues from 500+ academic journals from 1996 onward. This multidisciplinary collection provides coverage of a broad range of research spanning the arts & humanities and sciences.
Full-text articles from biomedical and life sciences journal literature maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. PMC contains more than 2.8 million articles. FAQs
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
The online voice of this celebrated Canadian's environmental messages. Search by keyword, or browse information on Climate Change, Forests, Oceans, Web of Life. Also offers information on "getting involved" through various political or activist channels.
National Library of Medicine Part of the long term project of creating a "complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations" of male and female human bodies. Includes cryosection images sectioned at one millimeter intervals for the male cadaver and one-third of a millimeter for the female.
Of Green Leaf, Bird, and Flower: Artists' Books and the Natural World by 
Molecular Aesthetics by 
The Aesthetic Mind: Philosophy and Psychology by 
Semantic Digital Libraries by 
