Research Guides: Liberal Arts & Sciences Research Guide: Digital Futures

Step #1: Encylopedias

Top encyclopedias for research in liberal arts & sciences research:

Credo Reference
Full text articles from over 600 academic encyclopedias, guides, handbooks. Use the concept map for a visual mind-mapping tool.
Access Science
Full-text articles from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science, Yearbooks of Science & Technology, biographies of well-known scientists and definitions of scientific terms drawn from the Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Content contributed by more than 5,000 researchers, including 36 Nobel Prize winners.
Britannica Academic
A general encyclopedia with articles covering all aspects of international cultures, history and sciences. This resource also includes World Data Analyst, which provides comparable statistics for all nations of the world and the Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus.
Help Guide

Memes by Limor Shifman
Call Number: HM626 S44
ISBN: 9780262525435
Publication Date: 2014
An investigation of memes and what they communicate about digital culture. Included in the author's analysis are discussions of memes as new modes of political participation and as agents of globalization.
Pastplay: Teaching and Learning History with Technology by Kevin Kee (Editor)
Call Number: D16.255 C65 P27
ISBN: 9780472119370
Publication Date: 2014
This collection looks at how technology is being employed in the teaching of history. Covered topics include gaming, rapid prototyping, 3D modelling, digital mapping, and more.
The Mobile Story: Narrative Practices with Locative Technologies by Jason Farman (Editor)
Call Number: HM851 M62
ISBN: 9780415707282
Publication Date: 2014
Explores digital storytelling beyond the desktop, looking at how stories can be told through mobile, locative, and pervasive technologies. Addresses the histories of site-specific narratives, issues in design and practice, space and mapping, mobile games, and more.

For many results to browse books:

try broad "subject keyword" terms such as Digital, New Media, art and Technology

Now to limit your results:

No Results?

use fewer search terms
try adding * at the end of a root word (to search variants); e.g. Canad* searches Canada, Candian's, Canadianism, etc.

The library PRINT collection has only selected liberal arts and sciences titles so try Ebook Central for many more:

ACM Digital Library
Full text articles, conference papers covering cutting-edge developments in digital, computer and technological sciences.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more. Includes Canadian Art Magazine.
Help Guide

Industry Canada
Includes Canadian trade-marks database; small business financing search, news, government reports.
Age of Persuasion (CBC Radio One)
Terry O'Reilly explores how marketers permeate our lives, from media, art, and language, to politics, religion, and fashion.
Canadian Journal of Communication
Simon Fraser U. Open source peer-reviewed journal.

AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
Duke University. Browse thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others.
Help Guide