Research Guides: Liberal Arts & Sciences Research Guide: Business

Step #1: Encylopedias

Top encyclopedias for research in liberal arts & sciences research:

Credo Reference
Full text articles from over 600 academic encyclopedias, guides, handbooks. Use the concept map for a visual mind-mapping tool.
Access Science
Full-text articles from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science, Yearbooks of Science & Technology, biographies of well-known scientists and definitions of scientific terms drawn from the Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Content contributed by more than 5,000 researchers, including 36 Nobel Prize winners.
Britannica Academic
A general encyclopedia with articles covering all aspects of international cultures, history and sciences. This resource also includes World Data Analyst, which provides comparable statistics for all nations of the world and the Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus.
Help Guide

For BEST results:

try "subject keyword" searches on art market*, art* AND profession*, art* AND business*, etc.
- use * for variants of root word (ex. Canad* will search Canada, Canadian, Canada's, etc.
NOTE: familiar phrases, such as "artist run centres" should be searched using "general keywords"

To limit your results, add MORE terms including:

No Results?

The library PRINT collection has only selected liberal arts and sciences titles so try Ebook Central for many more:

Art Incorporated : The Story of Contemporary Art by Julian Stallabrass
ISBN: 0192801651

A controversial attempt to define what is 'contemporary' about contemporary art, and the dramatic changes that have taken place in the last twenty years.
The Economics of Art and Culture by James Heilbrun; Charles M. Gray
ISBN: 9780521637121

Publication Date: 2001-04-23

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more. Includes Canadian Art Magazine.
Help Guide

National Film Board of Canada (NFB)
The National Film Board of Canada's is an award-winning online Screening Room, featuring over 5,000 productions. This collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
Help Centre
The National Film Board’s mission is to provide new perspectives on Canada and the world from Canadian points of view, perspectives that are not provided by anyone else and that serve Canadian and global audiences by an imaginative exploration of who we are and what we may be. We will do this by creating, distributing and engaging audiences with innovative and distinctive audiovisual works and immersive experiences that will find their place in classrooms, communities, and cinemas, and on all the platforms where audiences watch, exchange and network around creative content.

Industry Canada
Includes Canadian trade-marks database; small business financing search, news, government reports.
Age of Persuasion (CBC Radio One)
Terry O'Reilly explores how marketers permeate our lives, from media, art, and language, to politics, religion, and fashion.

AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
Duke University. Browse thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others.
Help Guide

Canadian Journal of Communication
Simon Fraser U. Open source peer-reviewed journal.