Scholarly Communications: What is Open Access?

The African American Performance Art Archive
The African American Performance Art Archive (aapaa.org) makes crucial documentation of historically significant performances by African American artists available on-line to artists, scholars, and students in the spirit of intellectual exchange.

African American Visual Artists Database
The mission of the African American Visual Artists Database is to establish a free public access record of the historical and ongoing contribution of artists of African descent to the visual arts, and to provide a visual and textual informational resource for non-profit educational use with unrestricted free access to all members of the global community. Our mission is to encourage the inclusion of artists of the African Diaspora in those areas where they continue to be underrepresented: the curricula and scholarship of schools and universities, museums and private collections, gallery and public exhibition spaces, public and institutional commissions.

Art Canada Institute
The Art Canada Institute is a non-profit research organization based at Massey College, University of Toronto, whose mandate is to promote the study of an inclusive multi-vocal Canadian art history to as broad an audience as possible, in both English and French, within Canada and internationally.

​ArtCan
ArtCan is the public face of the Canadian Art Commons for History of Art Education and Training (CACHET), a national network funded by the Partnership Development Grant Program of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

ART-Dok
ART-Dok is the full-text server of the "Specialised Information Service for Art, Photography, Design", arthistoricum.net and is made available by Heidelberg University Library. It offers members of the academic community worldwide the opportunity to publish their texts in electronic format on the internet at no charge.

As for now, ART-Dok provides free full-text access to 3,746 publications.

Art Journal Open
Art Journal Open takes advantage of the unique qualities of the web to present artists’ projects, scholarly essays, conversations and interviews, notes from the field, artifacts of materials and process, and news items. The site embraces the evolving nature of multimedia formats and techniques, seeking to serve as a provisional, suggestive, and projective archive for contemporary art.

The Avery Review
The Avery Review is an open access journal dedicated to thinking about books, buildings, and other architectural media It is a project of the Office of Publications at the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation.

Centre for Contemporary Canadian Art (CCCA)
The CCCA documents the careers of some of Canada's leading professional artists, designers, art writers, and art organizations that have helped shape the Canadian art scene since the 1960s.

Dictionary of Art Historians
Search or browse full text biographies and authoritative entries on the key scholars, museum professionals and academic historians of art for classic and contemporary art history research.

e-artexte
e-artexte is the online platform that provides access to the Artexte catalogue and associated digital files.

KAPSULA
KAPSULA is a monthly magazine dedicated to engaged, evaluative art writing. Entirely digital, the publication explores formats exclusive to web-based documents and aims to advance online art publishing through experimentation. Taking the democratized, dispersed nature of the Internet as its basis, KAPSULA offers a venue for texts that may be unsuited to more conventional publications due to unusual or critical stances, formats, or subjects.

LIBRARIA
LIBRARIA is a collective of social science journals and learned societies that have teamed with the Public Knowledge Project and the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), two of world’s leading experts in open access scholarly communications, to research cooperative alternatives to the existing ecology of academic publishing.

Open Humanities Press
Open Humanities Press is an international, scholar-led open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide. OHP is a network of interlacing thematic scholarly communities whose various, predominantly autonomous, editorial activities make up the OHP collective.

Open Library of the Humanities
The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal. Subject range includes classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.

Research Catalogue

The Research Catalogue (RC) is a searchable database for archiving artistic research. The open source status of the RC is essential to its nature and serves its function as a connective and transitional layer between academic discourse and artistic practice, thereby constituting a discursive field for artistic research.

Rijksmuseum
​Rijksmuseum's Rijks Studio provides access to 609,394 images from its collection that are either in the public domain or cleared for copyright. 

Triple Canopy
Triple Canopy is a magazine based in New York. Since 2007, Triple Canopy has advanced a model for publication that encompasses digital works of art and literature, public conversations, exhibitions, and books. This model hinges on the development of publishing systems that incorporate networked forms of production and circulation. Working closely with artists, writers, technologists, and designers, Triple Canopy produces projects that demand considered reading and viewing. Triple Canopy resists the atomization of culture and, through sustained inquiry and creative research, strives to enrich the public sphere.

Virtual Textile Database
The Textile Museum of Canada's Virtual Textile Database acts as a resource providing access to antique textiles normally closed to the public or stored in museum archives.