Design for Health

Jacalyn Duffin's History of Medicine provides a brief survey of the history of Western medicine with reference to recent scholarly literature and current issues in health care. Organized conceptually around the major fields of medical endeavour - anatomy, physiology, pathology, pharmacology, surgery, obstetrics, psychiatry, pediatrics, and family medicine - this book is an accessible overview of medical history as a vibrant component of social, intellectual, and cultural history, and as a research discipline in its own right.

The Reader incorporates many of the elements of the "new" medical anthropology and sociology of health and illness. Each section of the book is introduced with an essay by the editor, providing a fresh perspective on topical issues setting out the core concerns of the authors whose work follows. In addition, the Reader is supported by an extensive guide to further reading. It provides students with an introduction to the field and a critical insight into current debates.

Sarah Nettleton’s The Sociology of Health and Illness has become a cornerstone text, popular with students and academics alike for its rigorous and accessible overview of the field. Building on these strengths, the third edition integrates fresh insights from the current literature with the core tenets of traditional medical sociology, providing students with a thorough grounding in the sociology of health and illness.

This volume provides the first comprehensive overview of the state of rural health and health care in Canada, from coast to coast and in northern communities. The contributors bring insights and methodologies from nursing, social work, geography, epidemiology, and sociology and from community-based research to a full spectrum of topics: health literacy, rural health care delivery and training, Aboriginal health, web-based services and their application, rural palliative care, and rural health research and policy.

The Business of Healthcare Innovation is a wide-ranging analysis of business trends in the manufacturing segment of the healthcare industry. It provides a thorough overview and introduction to the innovative sectors fueling improvements in healthcare: pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, platform technology, medical devices and information technology.

In this volume, leading scholars in the history and sociology of medicine focus their attention on the material cultures of health care. They analyze how technology has become so central to medicine over the last two centuries and how we are coping with the consequences.

"Covering an incredibly wide range of subjects, from minerals and machines to patients and pharmaceuticals, and from experimental physics to genetic engineering, Pickstone's Ways of Knowing challenges the reader to reexamine traditional conceptualizations of the history, philosophy, and social studies of science, technology, and medicine." -- From the publisher.

Master the assistive strategies you need to make confident clinical decisions and help improve the quality of life for people with disabilities with the latest edition of this comprehensive text. Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model developed by the authors, the book provides detailed coverage of the broad range of devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. This new edition has been expanded and updated, and features new multimedia components that further demonstrate how to apply the concepts you've learned to real-world practice. Focus on clinical application guides you in applying concepts to real-world situations. Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) framework demonstrates assistive technology within common, everyday contexts for more relevant application. Review questions and chapter summaries in each chapter help you assess your understanding and identify areas where more study is needed. Assistive Technology for Cognitive Augmentation chapter gives you a foundation in the growing use of assistive technology to enhance human cognitive processes. Technologies that Aid Transportation familiarizes you with the many options of transportation assistance available and helps you determine which are right for your clients. Separate chapters on sensory aid for visual and auditory impairment provide additional strategies in these key assistive areas. Bound-in companion CD-ROM features videos of assessment and device use that helps you visualize procedures and reinforce your clinical application skills. Evolve resources test your understanding of terms and concepts and link you to supplemental sources for further research. Additional case studies throughout the text prepare you for practice with realistic client scenarios. Expanded evidence-based content supports concepts with real-world research data. Additional photographs, illustrations, tables, and boxes provide clear visual references and quick access to important information.

"The ultimate real-world guide to how hospitals, long-term care communities and integrated health care systems around the world are operationalizing the fundamental dimensions of a patient-centered culture, including access to information, family involvement, healing environments, employee and physician engagement, patient advocacy and more." - From the publisher.

This work includes a foreword by lynne Maher. Head of Innovation Practice, NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement, University Of Warwick, Coventry. "Experience Based Design" (EBD) is a new way of bringing about improvements in healthcare services by being user-focussed. Facilities, healthcare professionals, carers, family and friends are all involved in the patient experience and systems and policies need to adapt to take this into consideration. By exploring the underlying concepts, methods and practices of EBD, this exciting guide offers a unique approach to healthcare customer satisfaction. It offers recommendations for the future and many interesting points for discussion. It will be of great interest to health and social care management, particularly directors of service improvement in hospitals and directors of nursing, health and social care policy makers and shapers, and quality improvement and organisational development specialists in healthcare. Patient groups and national organisations, too will find the book inspirational. 'Experience based design-you cannot do without it. Read this book and it will change the way you think about providing health services for ever.' - Lynne Maher.

Based on recent research, this book discusses how to improve quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness in patient care through the application of human factors and ergonomics principles. It provides guidance for those involved with the design and application of systems and devices for effective and safe healthcare delivery from both a patient and staff perspective. Its huge range of chapters covers everything from the proper design of bed rails to the most efficient design of operating rooms, from the development of quality products to the rating of staff patient interaction.