Full text biographies, background information on key designers.
Arts:Search consists of three related and linked databases:
Review - Provides full text of a range of 19th and early 20th century art journals
Arts + Architecture Profiles - Includes biographical data on over 35,000 artists, architects, craftspeople and designers
AHR consists of four related databases:
Arts + Architecture Profiles - Includes biographical data on over 35,000 artists, architects, craftspeople and designers
ReVIEW - provides access to digitized art periodicals published between the 1870s and the early 1920s
Design Abstracts Retrospective - Contains article level records and abstracts or summaries from architecture and design journals published between 1900-1988.
The Poster - Contains a biographical and online survey of the history of the poster along with related digitized books, exhibition catalogues and journals published between 1890 - 1920.
This database is the premier source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present. Help Guide
A "scholarly exploration of popular culture" and its importance in design research," because popular culture exudes such great influence, impacting on everything from fashion to food packaging"
Full-text articles from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science, Yearbooks of Science & Technology, biographies of well-known scientists and definitions of scientific terms drawn from the Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Content contributed by more than 5,000 researchers, including 36 Nobel Prize winners.
The JSTOR archive includes the backfile content of more than 2,500 research journals in a variety of disciplines. OCAD U Library currently subscribes to fourteen JSTOR archival collections: Arts & Sciences I XIII and Life Sciences (includes Biological and Health & General Science) collections. As part of JSTORs agreement with publishers current issues are not typically available on the platform (often the most recent 2-5 years) but may be accessible through other library databases.
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations from the life sciences literature, with emphasis on biomedical literature, drawn predominately from the MEDLINE database. PubMed includes free full-text access to more than 4 million articles, including all content contained within PubMed Central. Help Guide
Sage Journals provides access to more than 1,100 journals, including over 200 gold open access journals, and 400 society partners. Users can browse journals by various disciplines, such as design, architecture, humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, gender studies, media studies, and more.
Search or browse the classic 1918 publication. Includes over 1,247 engravings (some in colour), as well as a subject index with more than 13,000 entries.
Health Canada is the Federal department responsible for helping Canadians maintain and improve their health, while respecting individual choices and circumstances. Health Canada produces numerous reports and publications about the Canadian health care system and issues that affect the health of Canadians.
