Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. Help Guide
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1844 - 2019 Help Guide
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography.
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more. Includes Canadian Art Magazine. Help Guide
The JSTOR archive includes the backfile content of more than 2,500 research journals in a variety of disciplines. OCAD U Library currently subscribes to fourteen JSTOR archival collections: Arts & Sciences I XIII and Life Sciences (includes Biological and Health & General Science) collections. As part of JSTORs agreement with publishers current issues are not typically available on the platform (often the most recent 2-5 years) but may be accessible through other library databases.
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
This collection has cross-disciplinary relevance beyond LGBT courses, serving research and teaching needs in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
Project MUSE is a non-profit organization founded by Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library and supported by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. MUSE provides full-text access to 600+ scholarly journals published by more than 120 university presses and scholarly societies in the fields of visual arts, cultural studies, gender studies, economics and others.
Note: The Library provides current full-text access to many JSTOR Current titles via Project MUSE.
Sage Journals provides access to more than 1,100 journals, including over 200 gold open access journals, and 400 society partners. Users can browse journals by various disciplines, such as design, architecture, humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, gender studies, media studies, and more.
ACF provides access to online streaming videos of thousands of movies from numerous exclusive studios, exclusive access to the largest library of animated and family movies.
Criterion on Demand is a streaming video platform that provides access to a growing library of more than 4,000 feature films which including classics, foreign films, new releases and documentaries. The collection comprises films from a number of leading production companies such as 20th Century Fox, Paramount Pictures, DreamWorks, Warner Brothers, as well as smaller independent producers such as Mongrel Media. Help Guide
This collection is licensed for personal research or educational/instructional classroom use only, and films may not be screened for other purposes.
Films on Demand (FOD) is a streaming video service which provides access to more than 15,000 educational videos across all subject areas. It includes content from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC, PBS, Nova, and numerous other educational film producers. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and embed clips (register for an account using your OCAD U email address to select and download content). Support Centre
Kanopy is a streaming video platform which offers access to videos from a wide variety of subject areas such as literature, history, visual arts and indigenous studies. The films in the collection include training, documentary and feature length productions from a range of producers/distributors such as Criterion/Janus films, Media Education Foundation, PBS, BBC and more.
Due to the cost of this resource, only titles required by faculty for teaching are available for viewing.
