Welcome to your research guide for SOSC 3003: Childhood, Families, and Social Change. This guide is designed to help you find the best resources, navigate databases, and manage your research effectively for assignments like the Family Portrait project. Whether you’re exploring family roles, childhood development, or media representations, this guide will support you every step of the way.
Need help with your research? I’m available for one-on-one research appointments! If you’d like personalized support, email me at kbailey1@ocadu.ca to set up a time. We can discuss research strategies, refine your research question, or find sources tailored to your assignment.
This guide is organized into five key sections, each designed to support different stages of your research process:
Developing Search Strategies: Start by learning how to build effective search strategies using strong keywords, Boolean operators, and refining techniques to get the most relevant results. This section provides tips on how to approach searching systematically, ensuring you cover all critical aspects of your topic.
Find eBooks and Books: Discover how to use OMNI to locate books and eBooks related to your topic. This section offers practical advice for searching academic texts, both digital and print, available through the library.
Key Databases: Explore the most important databases for your course. You’ll find detailed overviews of resources like JSTOR, Project MUSE, and SAGE Journals, along with multimedia databases like Films on Demand. Use this tab to access peer-reviewed articles, media, and more.
Organizing Scholarly and Non-Scholarly Sources: Learn how to manage your research by distinguishing between scholarly and non-scholarly sources. This section also covers tools like citation managers to help organize and track your materials efficiently.
Citing Sources: Get step-by-step guidance on how to properly cite your sources in Chicago Author-Date Style, as required for your course. This section includes examples and tips for citing books, articles, and multimedia sources, as well as links to citation tools to help generate bibliographies.
Course Readings: I've included a link to your course readings for easy access for your assignment.
OCAD's Writing and Learning Centre: When it comes to citing your sources, your best bet for additional help is to book an appointment with a tutor.
Use these sections to guide your research process from start to finish. And remember, if you need additional help, feel free to reach out to me anytime!
Happy researching!
