Research Guides: OCAD U Library 2018 Winter: Collections

New E-Resource (Database)

Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlements & Colonial Encounters

Institutions across Canada can now benefit from full access to Frontier Life: Borderlands Settlement and Colonial Encounters, a digital collection of primary sources offering a glimpse into Canada’s unique historic past. Consortia Canada, Adam Matthew and 18 leading academic institutions have collaborated to open this essential content to libraries and educational institutions nationwide. For further details read the full press release.

This collection of primary source materials has been developed in cooperation with sixteen archives and libraries from around the world and provides access to more than 240,000 images and 8,000 documents from the mid-17th to the early 20th century. Frontier Life documents the experiences of people living in the colonial frontiers of North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Indigenous peoples and their encounters with European settlers and their descendants are central themes within the collection which is organized by sub-collections such as Trade & Commerce, Religion, Children & Family, and Warfare & Military History. 70% of the collection is North American, with approximately 20% specific to Canada; including content from Canadian memory institutions such as the Glenbow Museum, Hudson Bay Archives, and Archives of Manitoba.

E-Resource Cancelations

In addition to the previously announced e-resource cancellations (June – September), the Library will be cancelling six more subscriptions through the remainder of the fiscal year in conformance with the institutional budgetary Remedial Action Plan. Descriptions of these resources, alternative resources and subscription end dates are described here.

Interlibrary Loan

Did you know...that you can request books from other libraries?

Looking for a book or article that is not in the OCAD U Library collection? Did you know that you can request books from other libraries and pick them up right here at OCAD? And request journal articles that are delivered straight to your inbox?

Students, staff, and faculty can request titles from libraries across Canada. Graduate students and faculty may also request titles from libraries in the United States. It's as easy as filling out an online form, through the RACER interlibrary loans service. To get started, create a RACER account using the 14-digit barcode found on your OCAD U ID card. Then, just search for a title and request it. Once you have requested a book, it will usually arrive at OCAD within 5-10 business days. Meanwhile, journal articles are usually sent by email within 5 business days.

Need more information about interlibrary loans? Find more detailed info here or contact OCAD U librarian Sarah Butterill at sbutterill@ocadu.ca or 416 977-6000, x 357.

New in Print

4D Hyperlocal by Lucy Bullivant (Guest Editor)
Call Number: NA9050 A43
ISBN: 9781119097129
Publication Date: 2017
"The evolution of digital tools is revolutionising urban design, planning and community engagement. This is enabling a new "hyperlocal" mode of design made possible by geolocation technologies and GPS-enabled mobile devices that support connectivity through open-source applications. Real-time analysis of environments and individuals' input and feedback bring a new immediacy and responsiveness. Established linear design methods are being replaced by adaptable mapping processes. real-time data streams and experiential means, fostering more dynamic spatial analysis and public feedback. This shifts the emphasis in urban design from the creation of objects and spaces to collaboration with users, and from centralised to distributed participatory systems." -- Back cover.
Bosch by Pilar Silva Maroto
Call Number: ND653 B66 B66
ISBN: 9780500970799
Publication Date: 2017
"The Museo del Prado houses the largest known collection of works by Jheronimus Bosch. Among its holdings are 'The Adoration of the Magi' and 'The Garden of Earthly Delights' triptychs, as well as the original of 'The Haywain', making it the "home of Bosch" and the perfect institution to hold a major exhibition marking the quincentenary of the artist's death. This magnificent, richly illustrated book reproduces these masterpieces and other recently cleaned and restored paintings, and reveals hitherto unknown facets of Bosch's art." -- From the publisher.
Boredom by Tom McDonough
Call Number: NX650 E46 B66
ISBN: 9780262533447
Publication Date: 2017
"In contemporary art, boredom is no longer viewed as a singular experience; rather, it is contingent on diverse social identifications and cultural positions, and exists along a spectrum stretching from a malign condition to be struggled against to something to be embraced or explored as a site of resistance. This anthology contextualizes the range of boredoms associated with our neoliberal moment, taking a long view that encompasses the political critique of boredom in 1960s France; the simultaneous aesthetic embrace in the United States of silence, repetition, or indifference in Fluxus, Pop, Minimalism and conceptual art; the development of feminist diagnoses of malaise in art, performance, and film; punk's social critique and its influence on theories of the postmodern; and the recognition, beginning at the end of the 1980s, of a specific form of ennui experienced in former communist states. Today, with the emergence of new forms of labor alienation and personal intrusion, deadening forces extend even further into subjective experience, making the divide between a critical and an aesthetic use of boredom ever more tenuous" -- From the publisher.
Queer Threads by Todd Oldham (Editor)
Call Number: NK8801 N4 L36
ISBN: 9781623261054
Publication Date: 2017
"Queer Threads: Crafting Identity and Community spotlights an international, intergenerational, intersectional mix of thirty artists who are remixing fiber craft traditions, such as crochet, embroidery, quilting, and sewing, while reconsidering the binaries of art and craft, masculine and feminine, and gay and straight. Designed by Todd Oldham and edited by John Chaich, this 192-page, hardcover, 8 x 10-inch book features full-color spreads of each artist's work, along with intimate details of selections and artist studios, as well as an introductory essay by Chaich, who curated the exhibition of the same name that inspired this book. To further examine how queerness informs their work in fiber and textiles, or vice versa, the artists are interviewed by makers and thinkers from the worlds of dance, design, fashion, media, music, museums, scholarship, and more—many members of the LGBTQ community themselves, and otherwise passionate allies." -- From the publisher.
Glitch Art in Theory and Practice by Michael Betancourt
Call Number: N7433.8 B37 G54
ISBN: 9781138219540
Publication Date: 2016
"This volume explores the concept of "glitch" alongside contemporary digital political economy to develop a general theory of critical media using glitch as a case study and model, focusing specifically on examples of digital art and aesthetics. While prior literature on glitch practice in visual arts has been divided between historical discussions and social-political analyses, this work provides a rigorous, contemporary theoretical foundation and framework." -- From the publisher.
Snotgirl : Volume 1 by Bryan Lee O'Malley; Leslie Hung (Artist)
Call Number: PN6733 O5 S66
ISBN: 9781534300361
Publication Date: 2017
"Lottie Person is a glamorous fashion blogger living her best life-- at least that's what she wants you to think. The truth is, her allergies are out of control, her friends are terrible people, her boyfriend traded her up for someone younger, and she may or may not have killed somebody!"--Page 4 of cover (volume 1).
SakKijâjuk by Heather Igloliorte
Call Number: N6504.85 I35 S24
ISBN: 9780864929747
Publication Date: 2017
"Nunatsiavut, the Inuit region of Canada that achieved self-government in 2005, produces art that is distinct within the world of Canadian and circumpolar Inuit art. The world's most southerly population of Inuit, the coastal people of Nunatsiavut have always lived both above and below the tree line, and Inuit artists and craftspeople from Nunatsiavut have had access to a diverse range of Arctic and Subarctic flora and fauna, from which they have produced a stunningly diverse range of work. Artists from the territory have traditionally used stone and woods for carving; fur, hide, and sealskin for wearable art; and saltwater seagrass for basketry, as well as wool, metal, cloth, beads, and paper. In recent decades, they have produced work in a variety of contemporary art media, including painting, drawing, printmaking, photography, video, and ceramics, while also working with traditional materials in new and unexpected ways. SakKijâjuk: Art and Craft from Nunatsiavut is the first major publication on the art of the Labrador Inuit." -- Provided by publisher.
Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons by Andrew Bolton
Call Number: TT505 K28 B64
ISBN: 9781588396204
Publication Date: 2017
"A revelatory look at the influential and enigmatic designer behind Comme des Garcons. The great pantheon of fashion designers produces only a handful of creators who are masters of their metier. Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garcons is one of them. Widely recognized among her contemporaries as the most important and influential designer of the past forty years, she has, since her Paris debut in 1981, defined and transformed the aesthetics of our time. This lavishly illustrated publication examines Kawakubo's fascination with interstitiality, or the space between boundaries. Existing within and between dualities-whether self/other, object/subject, art/fashion-Kawakubo's work challenges the rigid divisions that have come to define received notions of identity and fashionability, inviting us to rethink fashion as a site of constant creation, re-creation, and, ultimately, hybridity. Featuring brilliant new photography, and thought-provoking texts by Andrew Bolton, this book expresses the conceptual and challenging aesthetic of this visionary designer. An insightful interview and illustrated chronology of Kawakubo's career provide additional context." -- From the publisher.
Manet by Pierre Bourdieu
Call Number: ND553 M25 B67
ISBN: 9781509500093
Publication Date: 2017
"What is a 'symbolic revolution'? What happens when a symbolic revolutions occurs, how can it succeed and prevail and why is it so difficult to understand? Using the exemplary case of Édouard Manet, Pierre Bourdieu began to ponder these questions as early as the 1980s, before making it the focus of his lectures in his last years at the Collége de France. This second volume of Bourdieu's previously unpublished lectures provides his most sustained contribution to the sociology of art and the analysis of cultural fields. It is also a major contribution to our understanding of impressionism and the works of Manet. Bourdieu treats the paintings of Manet as so many challenges to the conservative academicism of the pompier painters, the populism of the Realists, the commercial eclecticism of genre painting, and even the 'Impressionists', showing that such a revolution is inseparable from the conditions that allow fields of cultural production to emerge. At a time when the Academy was in crisis and when the increase in the number of painters challenged the role of the state in defining artistic value, the break that Manet inaugurated revolutionised the aesthetic order. The new vision of the world that emerged from this upheaval still shapes our categories of perception and judgement today - the very categories that we use everyday to understand the representations of the world and the world itself." -- From the publisher.
Louise Bourgeois by Deborah Wye; Jerry Gorovoy
Call Number: NE539 B67 W83
ISBN: 9781633450417
Publication Date: 2017
"'Louise Bourgeois : An Unfolding Portrait' explores this celebrated artist's prints and books, a little known but highly significant part of Bourgeois's larger practice. Her copious production in these mediums - addressing themes that perennially occupied her, including memory, trauma, and the body - is examined here within the context of related sculptures, drawings, and paintings. This investigation sheds light on Bourgeois's creative process, which is uniquely and vividly apparent through the evolving states and variants of her prints; seeing these sequences unfold is akin to looking over the artist's shoulder as she worked. Published in conjunction with an exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art, this catalogue features an insightful essay by curator (and longtime friend of the artist) Deborah Wye, examining Bourgeois's involvement with these mediums alongside the developments of her long life and career. Interviews with three of the artist's close collaborators further illuminate her artistic practice and output, some three hundred examples of which are presented in this volume." --Publisher's description
Soul of a Nation by Mark Godfrey; David Driskell (Text by); Edmund Gaither (Text by); Jae Jarrell (Text by); Wadsworth Jarrell (Text by); Samella Lewis (Text by); Susan E. Cahan (Text by)
Call Number: N6538 N5 S67
ISBN: 9781942884170
Publication Date: 2017
"In the period of radical change that was 1963-1983, young black artists at the beginning of their careers in the USA confronted key questions and pressures. How could they make art that would stand as innovative, original, formally and materially complex, while also making work that reflected their concerns and experience as black Americans? This significant new publication, accompanying an exhibition at Tate Modern, surveys this crucial period in American art history, bringing to light previously neglected histories of twentieth-century black artists, including Sam Gilliam, Melvin Edwards, Jack Whitten, William T. Williams and Frank Bowling. This book features substantial essays from co-curators Mark Godfrey and Zoe Whitley, writing on abstraction and figuration respectively. It will also explore the art historical and social contexts with subjects including black feminism; AfriCOBRA and other artist-run groups; the role of museums in the debates of the period; and where visual art sat in relation to the Black Arts Movement." -- From the publisher.