Food: Home

"For this book, the author Claire Joyes, wife of Madame Monet's great-grandson, has spent years selecting the Monets' favorite recipes and writing a wonderfully evocative introductory text. All of the recipes have been artfully prepared and brought back to life in Monet's own kitchen by master chef Joel Robuchon.
Illustrated with sumptuous reproductions of Monet's paintings, spectacular original four-color photographs of Giverny, selected shots of finished dishes, and facsimile pages from the notebooks themselves, this book provides a fascinating and unique insight into the turn-of-the-century lifestyle of one of the world's most celebrated Impressionist painters." - from the publisher

"Just as French Impressionists upended centuries of tradition, Modernist cuisine has in recent years blown through the boundaries of the culinary arts. Borrowing techniques from the laboratory, pioneering chefs at world-renowned restaurants such as elBulli, The Fat Duck, Alinea, and wd~50 have incorporated a deeper understanding of science and advances in cooking technology into their culinary art.
In Modernist Cuisine: The Art and Science of Cooking, Nathan Myhrvold, Chris Young, and Maxime Bilet--scientists, inventors, and accomplished cooks in their own right--have created a six-volume, 2,400-page set that reveals science-inspired techniques for preparing food that ranges from the otherworldly to the sublime. The authors and their 20-person team at The Cooking Lab have achieved astounding new flavors and textures by using tools such as water baths, homogenizers, centrifuges, and ingredients such as hydrocolloids, emulsifiers, and enzymes. It is a work destined to reinvent cooking." -from the publisher

"The reissued James Beard and IACP award winner Spirit of the Harvest brings authentic Native American recipes into the modern home kitchen. This carefully researched cookbook presents 150 recipes from across the United States, incorporating many indigenous ingredients and traditional dishes from the Cherokee, Chippewa, Navajo, Sioux, Mohegan, Iroquois, Comanche, Hopi, and many other North American tribes. Each chapter is introduced by an expert on the region and discusses the cultures of major tribal groups, their diets, their ceremonial use of food, and the historic dishes they developed." - from the publisher

"There has never been a more exciting time to eat in Toronto. While always known for its vibrant and varied food scene, over the past few years the city has been experiencing a culinary explosion. Innovative, globally minded, locally focused restaurants have been cropping up all over town as Toronto evolves into one of the world’s greatest places to eat. Toronto Cooks: 100 Signature Recipes from the City’s Best Restaurants captures this evolution specifically with the home cook in mind. Dozens of Toronto's greatest chefs, from veteran to rising star, have generously shared their fan-favourite, personally tested recipes." - from the publisher

"This book takes the reader on a gastronomic journey through the Middle Ages, offering not only a collection of medieval recipes, but a social history of the time. The eighty recipes, drawn from the earliest English cookbooks of the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, are presented in two formats: the original middle English version and one adapted and tested for the modern cook." - from the publisher

"Fifty recipes from the ancient world are presented in a fresh, new design alongside reproductions of ancient wall paintings, mosaics, vases, and household objects... Each chapter describes a different social gathering and the food that might have been served on such an occasion. From a menu inspired by Homer’s Odyssey in 700 B.C., to the offerings at a typical Greek symposium or drinking party in fourth century Athens, to the special treats at a Macedonian wedding feast, the recipes presented here suggest the true variety of food and social life in the ancient Mediterranean." - from the publisher

"Throwing aside the stifling patriarchy of late Victorian Britain, the Bloomsbury Group fostered a fresh, creative, and vital way of living that encouraged debate and communications, as often as not across the dining table... Gathered at these tables were many of the great figures in art, literature, and economics as the modern world was created and tirelessly interpreted: E.M. Forster, Roger Fry, J.M. Keynes, Lytton Strachey, and Virginia Woolf, among many others. Arranged chronologically from the late 19th century through the ascendency of the group between the wars, all the way to their present-day legacy, the book gathers together hundreds of photographs, letters, journals, paintings, and delicious recipes—some handwritten and never-before-published—that bring to life the group’s lingering breakfasts and “painting lunches.”" - from the publisher

"In this book, Sally Spector, who is from Chicago and now lives in Venice, takes us on a mouth-watering culinary trip; her historical love affair with food quite literally gives us a taste of Venice. Each page is beautifully illustrated with the text written in her own hand, sharing her personal impressions of this beloved city. It also provides practical Venetian recipes along with the history of Venice and its long relationship with food, and the ingredients are illustrated in stunning pen, ink and pastel drawings." - from the publisher

"The first thing that comes to mind about Antarctica is not likely food. But if you are going to spend any time there it should be the second...In 1996, several volunteer groups arrived at the Russian research station in Antarctic for an environmental project organized by Carol Devine in collaboration with the Russian Antarctic Expedition. The Antarctic Book of Cooking and Cleaning is a journey through that austral summer—the story of a joint clean-up project on a small island 120 miles off the Antarctic Peninsula. But it’s also a look at the challenges of cooking in a makeshift kitchen at the bottom of the world as cook Wendy Trusler feeds volunteers in the long, white nights." - from the introduction

"In its 150th Anniversary Year, the Royal College of Art is proud to present a rich and varied collection of recipes contributed and illustrated by distinguished artists, all of whom enjoy a past or present association with the College." - from the publisher

"From a fudge pop based on an Ellsworth Kelly sculpture to a pristinely segmented cake fashioned after Mondrian’s well-known composition, this collection of uniquely delicious recipes for cookies, parfait, gelées, ice pops, ice cream, cakes, and inventive drinks has everything you need to astound friends, family, and guests with your own edible masterpieces.
Taking cues from modern art’s most revered artists, these twenty-seven showstopping desserts exhibit the charm and sophistication of works by Andy Warhol, Cindy Sherman, Henri Matisse, Jeff Koons, Roy Lichtenstein, Richard Avedon, Wayne Thiebaud, and more." - from the publisher

"Culinary Landmarks is a definitive history and bibliography of Canadian cookbooks from the beginning, when La cuisinière bourgeoise was published in Quebec City in 1825, to the mid-twentieth century. Over the course of more than ten years Elizabeth Driver researched every cookbook published within the borders of present-day Canada, whether a locally authored text or a Canadian edition of a foreign work. Every type of recipe collection is included, from trade publishers' bestsellers and advertising cookbooks, to home economics textbooks and fund-raisers from church women's groups." - from the publisher

A collection of recipes from popular Queen West nightclub of the 1980s and 1990s, The Bamboo. Illustrations by Barbara Klunder and foreword by Catherine O'Hara.

"Every day at noon in the dining hall of New College, Oxford in the 1770s, a feast was laid for students and the dons, clad in white waistcoats and wigs. They sat down to cod with oysters, ham, fowls, boiled beef, rabbits smothered with onions, mutton, veal collops, pork griskins, New College Puddings, mince pies, and roots (vegetables). That was only the first course. For the second course, they were served roast turkey, a haunch of venison, a brace of woodcocks, snipes, veal olives, trifle, blancmange, stewed pippins, and preserved quinces. Ralph Ayres was the genius behind this daily repast, and his choice recipes are chronicled here in Ralph Ayres' Cookery Book." - from the publisher

"More than 100 easy recipes for terrific food on a student's budget. Written by a chef who lived away from home on a limited budget while she was a culinary arts student, The Ultimate Student Cookbook enables college and university students to enjoy fresh and healthy food every day." - from the publisher

"Amanda Cohen does not play by the rules. Her vegetable recipes are sophisticated and daring, beloved by omnivore, vegetarian, and vegan diners alike. Dirt Candy: A Cookbook shares the secrets to making her flavorful dishes—from indulgent Stone-Ground Grits with Pickled Shiitakes and Tempura Poached Egg, to hearty Smoked Cauliflower and Waffles with Horseradish Cream Sauce, to playfully addictive Popcorn Pudding with Caramel Popcorn. It also details Amanda’s crazy story of building a restaurant from the ground up to its currently being one of the hardest-to-get reservations in New York City—all illustrated as a brilliant graphic novel" - from the publisher

"A guide to a range of foodstuffs, their origins and uses. Over 500 ingredients are featured with full colour photographs and there are also illustrations showing meat cuts, plant storage and cooking implements. Ingredients are grouped together according to type for easy reference." - from the publisher

"Around the world, a scene of young food entrepreneurs is developing a trend that brings together creatives, tradespeople, and activists. This scene aspires to deal with both the food that we need, and the food that we enjoy, in more creative, more sensuous, and more responsible ways. It is united by a passion for making food an experience as well as by a high appreciation for the quality, origin, aesthetics, and workmanship of food. Delicate introduces the protagonists at the forefront of this current movement along with the projects, places, and products associated with them. The book documents a wide spectrum from small brewers, coffee roasters, and chocolate-makers to artists, event managers, and creators of zines." - from the publisher

"Food is not just a hot topic in design and cutting edge creativity today, but also an enormous industry with changing standards and perceptions. Based upon research by trend analysts from the London firm The Future Laboratory, crEATe. investigates recent trends and visual developments in and around food. The book examines everything from the way we eat, the interiors and furniture of innovative restaurants and shops, industrial design and the packaging of food to branding and consumerism. With incisive texts including profile features accompanied with stunning visuals, this sourcebook indicates how food is gaining new meaning in our lives and in top-notch contemporary design." - from the publisher

"Blending architectural and social history with the necessity—and the passion—for food, this engaging new book attempts to understand the development of the American house by viewing it through one very specific lens: the food axis. Taking in far more than the kitchen, author Elizabeth Collins Cromley explores all areas of food management within the home—preparation, cooking, consumption, and disposal. Her food axis implies a network of related spaces above and below ground, both attached to the house and separate from it. Studying the use and interaction of these spaces, and the ways in which their components change (often radically) over time, the author shows how these elements have helped shape the multiple forms of residential architecture in the United States, from the first settlement period to the present." - from the publisher

"Eat Out ! takes you on a journey around the world presenting an expansive variety of locales. A new appetite for sophistication is approached with sumptuous
eateries serving up gastronomic delights, gourmet canteens, exclusive art bars, upscale grocery stores and delicatessens to even ice cream parlours for the
trend-conscious epicure. Not only is this reflected in their interiors and architecture, but also in their holistic and concept driven presentations such as monothematic
food places that offer a single menu or theme-driven presentations and performances. The book also portrays a new tendency towards the notion of no frills establishments where more focus is placed on creating a unique atmosphere and experience, at times even prompting participation. Examples from pop-up restaurants and portable kitchens to snack bars and candy stores are portrayed." - from the publisher

"Food and the City makes the relationships between food and the city visible by exploring both the ways in which buying and eating food have become such a significant part of urban public life, and the ways in which design supports and enhances the place of food in the city. It is timely because the proliferation of urban cafes, restaurants, and markets continues, but is not sufficiently recognized or analyzed. Food related topics are now of great interest in academic and design disciplines but the theme of this issue, food as it relates to the variety and vitality of urban life, has not been addressed. Food and the City, will develop ideas from the popular Food and Architecture (2002)." - from the publisher

"With over two hundred elaborate diagrams and photographs, as well as a few words on regional provenance and cuisine, Pasta by Design offers a surreal interpretation of the everyday experience of making and eating pasta. Specifically, it presents a magnified view of the forming stage of the pasta-making process (the mechanical extrusion of a mixture of durum wheat-flour and water into the familiar shape).... [W]e have used mathematics to model reality and make it fun."--P. 008.

"City Farmer celebrates the new ways that urban dwellers across North America are reimagining cities as places of food production. From homeowners planting their front yards with vegetables to guerilla gardeners scattering seeds in neglected urban corners, gardening guru Lorraine Johnson chronicles the increasing popularity of innovative urban food growing." - from the publisher

" How to Grow Food is a complete, illustrated guide to the hundreds of plants that are easy to grow in the home garden. The author emphasizes gardening techniques that can be applied to any size of garden, from a window box to a small side yard plot to the biggest backyard.
This practical book features a comprehensive directory of more than 125 crop plants, from traditional choices to more unusual varieties, to suit all growing conditions in all regions using simple organic and biodynamic gardening methods. Gardeners can choose from roots and tubers; leafy crops; seed and fruit crops; grains; peppers and chilies; stem and flower crops; tree fruits; soft, bush and cane fruits; tender fruits; nuts; herbs; and edible flowers." - from the publisher

"Since the first edition of Edible Estates: Attack on the Front Lawn was published in 2008, interest in edible gardening has exploded across the United States and abroad. Even First Lady Michelle Obama is doing it! This greatly expanded second edition of the book documents the eight Edible Estates regional prototype gardens that author Fritz Haeg has planted in California, Kansas, Texas, Maryland, New Jersey, New York and England, and includes personal accounts from the homeowner-gardeners about the pleasures and challenges of publicly growing food where they live. Ten "Reports from Coast to Coast" tell the stories of others who have planted their own edible front yards in towns and cities across the country." - from the publisher

"Feast offers the first survey of the artist-orchestrated meal: since the 1930s, the act of sharing food and drink has been used to advance aesthetic goals and foster critical engagement with the culture of the moment. Both exhibition catalogue and reader, this richly illustrated book offers an interdisciplinary exploration of the art of the meal and its relationship to questions about hospitality, politics, and culture. From the Italian Futurists’ banquets in the 1930s, to 1960s and ’70s conceptual and performative work, to the global prevalence of socially engaged practices today, Feast considers a diverse group of artists who have transformed the meal into a compelling artistic medium." - from the publisher

"This book reveals how leading artists of the 21st century are reinvigorating the still life, a genre previously synonymous with the sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Old Masters. Michael Petrys careful curation of this exciting revamp celebrates works by emerging and established artists alike, from all over the globe, including John Currin, Elmgreen & Dragset, Renata Hegyi, Damien Hirst, David Hockney, Jeff Koons, Beatriz Milhazes, Gabriel Orozco, Elizabeth Peyton, Marc Quinn, Sam Taylor- Wood and Ai Weiwei. Short but compelling introductions begin each chapter and are followed by dramatic, visually led spreads that pair each work with a perceptive reading of its significance to the still-life tradition"

The combined experience and wisdom of 1000 cooks from all around the world is gathered together to help you avoid accidents and disastrous mistakes. Entries are arranged alphabetically beginning with Burns and ending with Wurst.

"This book accompanies the exhibition titled 'Rirkrit Tiravanija: Just Smile and Don't Talk' at Kunsthalle Bielefeld from July to October 2010. Containing a collection of 23 recipes, demonstrating the making of meals ranging from Pad Thai to Flaming Morning Glory, the book documents not only artist Rirkrit Tiravanija's cooking in his Chiang Mai kitchen, but also his art through the stove." - from the publisher

"Why has history viewed the enjoyment of food as a lower form of artistic pleasure? The writers and artists in this anthology have addressed this question by taking a renewed interest in the symbolic value of food and eating as well as in the rituals of preparation and consumption. In their interrogation of "foodculture" in art, they investigate food in all its materiality, its social value and its power to transform our culture-from the role of food in aesthetic concepts throughout history to modern concerns with global food production and distribution." - from the publisher

Limited edition artist's book of 3,000 hard-bound copies, designed by Marti Guixe; photographs by Inga Hnölke; typeset in hand-wrtten-Denver-Guixé. Hand-written recipes with illustrations and accompanying text.

"Food is a theme seldom dealt with by designers. Marti Guixe from Barcelona, creator of the Olive Atomic Snack on the cover, is a unique exception. Food, however, is just one of the many areas he attacks with his wit. He has worked for shoe company Camper, Authentics, Galeria H20 and Droog Design, and seems to live in a slightly different universe from everyone else. He delivers functional ideas (about five every day) that may deal with pills for office work, interior decoration for aquariums, graphic tattoos, a chair with books for height adjustment, tape to make soccer balls and a lollipop that contains a future orange tree. This large-format 'design cartoon' book provides an overview of most of his work to date." - from the book jacket

"Ferran Adria has revolutionized the world of gastronomy over the last 20 years. So original and poetically sensible is Adria's approach to cooking that he is considered to be the greatest "artist of the kitchen" today... Adria's restaurant, elBulli, was awarded 3 Michelin stars and recognized 4 times as the world's best restaurant by "The Restaurant Magazine".
Food for Thought explores the essence of elBulli's creativity with hundreds of color photographs of Adria's creations, including, for the first time ever, every single dish ever created by elBulli. Inspired by Adria's controversial participation in Documenta 12, this seductive volume features lively dialogue between the most potent critics and creators of the art and gastronomic worlds, including Heston Blumenthal, Bill Burford, Jerry Saltz, Massmiliano Gioni, Anya Gallaccio, Peter Kubelka, Antoni Miralda, Carsten Holler, Bice Curiger, Adrian Searle, Davide Paolini." - from the publisher

This book is published on the occasion of the exhibition: "Vom Essen in der Kunst", Kunsthalle Dusseldorf, 28. November 2009-28. Februar 2010.

"Here Ulrike Ottinger creates for the first time a collage from four decades of her artistic production: “For humanity, water and food are elementary in nature. Where then to begin to grasp these things that meander into every realm of our physical and spiritual life? Appropriating, as it were flowing into things, their nature, their most essential conditions, this has always been my artistic principle.” The arc runs from the ancient world to the present day, by water routes and through fictive and real worlds. The images and texts—quotations from Homer to the present—lead us on a journey through snackbars, ports, marketplaces, temples, and to a slaughter ritual in Mongolia and a sacrificial altar in Mexico." - from the publisher

"Art and Appetite takes a fascinating new look at depictions of food in American art, demonstrating that artistic representations of edibles offer thoughtful reflection on the cultural, political, economic, and social moments in which they were created. Artists used food as prism through which they could celebrate and critique their society, expressing ideas relating to politics, race, class, and gender. With a focus that ranges from Colonial still lifes of the 18th century through the Pop artists of the 20th century, this lively publication investigates the many interpretations of eating in America." - from the publisher

"Fruits and vegetables as erotic metaphors in still life paintings, the Florentine Baptistry replicated in sausage and cheese by Andrea del Sarto, a recipe for fish molded in the shape of a goat, the discovery of an Ovidian scene at the bottom of a soup bowl. A feast for the mind and eye, this beautifully illustrated, compellingly readable book is a rich exploration of the little examined interplay between art and cuisine during the Italian Renaissance. Exploring a dazzling array of art works, and drawing from period recipes and menus, John Varriano considers the many, often surprising, ways that cooks and artists converged and drew from each other's worlds." - from the publisher

"Challenging the predominance of visual culture, our eating habits and the pleasure of food privilege the senses of taste, touch, smell and even hearing. Perception and landscape define our cooking, but cooking also has a component of reflection and innovation based on scientific and technological research. Informed by this awareness, the new Catalan cuisine as exemplified by the Fundacio Alicia is a major force for culinary innovation. This volume constitutes a unique document of this task." - from the publisher

"The Fragile Feast is the fruit of a collaboration between London-born, Barcelona-based artist and photographer Hannah Collins and the Catalan star chef Ferran Adrià, internationally acknowledged as one of the greatest chefs in the world. Adrià's restaurant El Bulli, in Barcelona, which closed on July 31, 2011, was ranked top restaurant in the world for several consecutive years on the S. Pellegrino World's 50 Best Restaurants list, drawing gastronomes from far and wide; as he likes to say, "the ideal customer doesn't come to El Bulli to eat but to have an experience."" - from the publisher

"Food photography is on the rise, with the millions of food bloggers around the word as well as foodies who document their meals or small business owners who are interested in cutting costs by styling and photographing their own menu items, and this book should serve as your first course in food photography. Discover how the food stylist exercises unique techniques to make the food look attractive in the finished product." - from the publisher

"In Food Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots, photographer Nicole Young dishes up the basics on getting the right camera equipment–lights, lenses, reflectors, etc.–and takes you through the key photographic principles of aperture, ISO, and shutter speed. She then discusses lighting and composition and shows how to style food using props, fabrics, and tabletops. Finally, she explains how to improve your photos through sharpening, color enhancement, and other editing techniques." - from the publisher

"A celebration of the art of baking bread and the great bakers of New York City by students at Parsons School of Design, who made this book." - from the book jacket

"By providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, The Atlas of Food maps out broad areas of investigation—contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade—to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns. Buttressed by engaging prose and vivid graphics, Erik Millstone and Tim Lang convincingly argue that human progress depends on resolving global inequality and creating a more sustainable food production system." - from the publisher

"Museums of all kinds – art, history, culture, science centers and heritage sites – are actively engaging with food through exhibitions, collections, and stories about food production, consumption, history, taste, and aesthetics. Food also plays a central role in their food courts, restaurants, cafes, gardens, and gift shops. Food and Museums is the first book to explore the diverse, complex relationship between museums and food. This edited collection features theoretical analysis from cultural historians, anthropologists, neuroscientists, and food studies scholars; interviews with museum professionals, artists and chefs; and critical case studies from a wide range of cultural institutions and museums to establish an interdisciplinary framework for the analysis of the role of food in museums." -- From the publisher.

"Dying to Eat is the first interdisciplinary book to examine the role of food in death, bereavement, and the afterlife. The contributors explore the phenomenon across cultures and religions, investigating topics including tombstone rituals in Buddhism, Catholicism, and Shamanism; the role of death in the Moroccan approach to food; and the role of funeral casseroles and church cookbooks in the Southern United States. This innovative collection not only offers food for thought regarding the theories and methods behind these practices but also provides recipes that allow the reader to connect to the argument through material experience. Illuminating how cooking and corpses both transform and construct social rituals, Dying to Eat serves as a fascinating exploration of the foodways of death and bereavement." -- From the publisher.

"Food is essential to our sense of place and our sense of self, but today—as fast food nation meets the slow food movement and eating locally collides with on-demand arugula—our food habits are shifting. Food examines and imagines these changes, with projects by writers and artists that explore the cultural and emotional resonance of food, from the "everyday Dada" of mashed potatoes and Jell-O to the rocket science of food eaten by astronauts in space." - from the publisher

"Bannockology is an anthology of anecdotes, recipes, poetry and insights about bannock, the ubiquitous bread that is a part of every First Nations social event, private or public. Compiled and edited by artist, writer, curator Peter Morin, Bannockology was initiated in Watson Lake, Yukon where Peter worked with the local library and youth, and grew as Peter’s cultural adventures lead him to organize the World’s Largest Bannock event, and shaped by a deep commitment to his Tahltan culture." - publications.arcpost.ca

"In this fascinating study of people and their diets, 80 profiles are organized by the total number of calories each person puts away in a day. Featuring a Japanese sumo wrestler, a Massai herdswoman, world-renowned Spanish chef Ferran Adria, an American competitive eater, and more, these compulsively readable personal stories also include demographic particulars, including age, activity level, height, and weight. Essays from Harvard primatologist Richard Wrangham, journalist Michael Pollan, and others discuss the implications of our modern diets for our health and for the planet." - from the publisher

"While much has been written about the concept of terroir as it relates to wine, in this vibrant, personal book, Amy Trubek, a pioneering voice in the new culinary revolution, expands the concept of terroir beyond wine and into cuisine and culture more broadly. Bringing together lively stories of people farming, cooking, and eating, she focuses on a series of examples ranging from shagbark hickory nuts in Wisconsin and maple syrup in Vermont to wines from northern California. She explains how the complex concepts of terroir and goût de terroir are instrumental to France's food and wine culture and then explores the multifaceted connections between taste and place in both cuisine and agriculture in the United States." - from the publisher

"From her very first book, Serve It Forth, M.F.K. Fisher wrote about her ideal kitchen. In her subsequent publications, she revisited the many kitchens she had known and the foods she savored in them to express her ideas about the art of eating. M.F.K. Fisher among the Pots and Pans, interspersed with recipes and richly illustrated with original watercolors, is a retrospective of Mary Frances Kennedy Fisher's life as it unfolded in those homey settings—from Fisher's childhood in Whittier, California, to the kitchens of Dijon, where she developed her taste for French foods and wines; from the idyllic kitchen at Le Paquis to the isolation of her home in Hemet, California; and finally to her last days in the Napa and Sonoma Valleys. - from the publisher

"This book, packed with glorious color photographs, presents the very best in street food with images, information, and recipes for the specialties habitually prepared and consumed on the street. It is a discovery of traditions, cultures, customs, and ways of life—street food reflects the lifestyle of a nation. It also represents an opportunity to meet and socialize: the outdoor, informal setting and the lack of set times facilitate interpersonal relations, be it in front of an all-American hot dog stand, over Sicilian arancini, Japanese yakitori, or Brazilian Bahia acarajés." - from the publisher

"Fast food has hastened the malling of our landscape, widened the chasm between rich and poor, fueled an epidemic of obesity, and propelled American cultural imperialism abroad. Schlosser's survey stretches from California's subdivisions, where the business was born, to the industrial corridor along the New Jersey Turnpike, where many of fast food's flavors are concocted. Along the way, he unearths a trove of fascinating, unsettling truths - from the unholy alliance between fast food and Hollywood to the seismic changes the industry has wrought in food production, popular culture, and even real estate." - book jacket

"When award-winning (and working-class) journalist Tracie McMillan saw foodies swooning over $9 organic tomatoes, she couldn’t help but wonder: What about the rest of us? Why do working Americans eat the way we do? And what can we do to change it? To find out, McMillan went undercover in three jobs that feed America, living and eating off her wages in each. Reporting from California fields, a Walmart produce aisle outside of Detroit, and the kitchen of a New York City Applebee’s, McMillan examines the reality of our country’s food industry in this “clear and essential” (The Boston Globe) work of reportage. Chronicling her own experience and that of the Mexican garlic crews, Midwestern produce managers, and Caribbean line cooks with whom she works, McMillan goes beyond the food on her plate to explore the national priorities that put it there." - from the publisher

"Deep-fried pigeon’s head? Smoked Laotian rat? Bulls’ testicles? When it comes to extreme global cuisine, photographer Neil Setchfield has seen it all – and plenty more besides. Yuck! presents more than 100 of the world’s most gruesome, startling and bizarre dishes in stomach-churning colour. Such delicacies as the popular Filipino street snack balut (boiled duck embryo, served still in its eggshell) feature alongside the one-time British favourite ox tongue and the Middle Eastern speciality boiled sheep’s head. Setchfield accompanies the beautifully presented dishes – photographed over the course of his travels – with location shots, brief anecdotes, serving suggestions and recipes sourced from locals." -- From the publisher

"This book aims to contribute to a fuller understanding of the forces that influence and shape the current global food system. Author Jennifer Clapp explores how corporate control, inequitable international agricultural trade rules, and the financialization of farm commodities have each had a fundamental influence on the practices that dominate today’s global food system." - from the publisher

"The result of a multi-year interdisciplinary program called "Foodprint," Food for the City offers 13 visions from experts across the world: a politician, an activist, an economist, a philosopher, a chef, an architect and a farmer, among others. From the visionary to the practical, their essays and proposals examine the influence food can have on the culture, shape and functioning of the city, addressing issues of urban farming and laboratory engineering, and weighing the choices to be made between altering our food production systems or our consumption patterns." - from the publisher

"It’s a perverse fact of modern life: There are more starving people in the world than ever before, while there are also more people who are overweight. To find out how we got to this point and what we can do about it, Raj Patel launched a comprehensive investigation into the global food network...Going beyond ethical consumerism, Patel explains, from seed to store to plate, the steps to regain control of the global food economy, stop the exploitation of both farmers and consumers, and rebalance global sustenance." -from the publisher

"Disaster looms in our current method of food production. The vitamin, mineral, and nutritional content of food is in shocking decline, a decline that is coupled with an equally shocking increase in the most noxious, often outright toxic contaminants in our food. Based on hard scientific research, The End of Food exposes the cause of this crisis—an industrial system of food production geared not to producing nourishing food, but to producing maximum profit for corporations." - from the publisher

"Manifestos on the Future of Food and Seed lays out, in practical steps and far-reaching concepts, a program to ensure food and agriculture become more socially and ecologically sustainable. The book harvests the work and ideas produced by thousands of communities around the world. Emerging from the historic gatherings at Terra Madre, farmers, traders, and activists diagnose and offer prescriptions to reverse perhaps the worst food crisis faced in human history." - from the publisher

"Diet for a Dead Planet takes us beyond Fast Food Nation to show how our entire food system is in crisis. Corporate control of farms and supermarkets, unsustainable drives to increase agribusiness productivity and profits, misplaced subsidies for exports, and anemic regulation have all combined to produce a grim harvest. Food, our most basic necessity, has become a force behind a staggering array of social, economic, and environmental epidemics." - From the publisher

"Arguing that corporations are mainly responsible for the expansion of the damaging industrial food system, this discussion focuses on these organizations and the ways they organize and control food production and distribution. Demonstrating how the corporate food system destroys those systems based on local markets, local cultures, and biodiversity, this account highlights how it puts the profits of the few before the needs of people and leads to massive food safety incidents, environmental destruction, labor exploitation, and the decimation of rural communities. Informative and direct, this book aims to inspire individuals to actively take the food system back from corporations and put it in the hands of people." - from the publisher

"The future of our food depends on tiny seeds in orchards and fields the world over. In 1943, one of the first to recognize this fact, the great botanist Nikolay Vavilov, lay dying of starvation in a Soviet prison. But in the years before Stalin jailed him as a scapegoat for the country’s famines, Vavilov had traveled over five continents, collecting hundreds of thousands of seeds in an effort to outline the ancient centers of agricultural diversity and guard against widespread hunger. Now, another remarkable scientist—and vivid storyteller—has retraced his footsteps." - from the publisher

"Drawn from over thirty years of work, this collection joins bestsellers The Omnivore’s Dilemma, by Pollan, and Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Barbara Kingsolver, as essential reading for anyone who cares about what they eat. The essays address such concerns as: How does organic measure up against locally grown? What are the differences between small and large farms, and how does that affect what you put on your dinner table? What can you do to support sustainable agriculture?" - from the publisher

"What defines a sustainable food system? How can it be more inclusive? How do local and global scales interact and how does power flow within food systems? How to encourage an interdisciplinary approach to realizing sustainable food systems? And how to activate change? These questions are considered by EU and North American academics and practitioners in this book. Using a wide range of case studies, it provides a critical overview, showing how and where theory and practice can converge to produce more sustainable food systems." - from the publisher

"When Columbia professor Dickson Despommier set out to solve America's food, water, and energy crises, he didn't just think big - he thought up. Despommier's stroke of genius, the vertical farm, has excited scientists, architects, and politicians around the globe. Now, in this groundbreaking book, Despommier explains how the vertical farm will have an incredible impact on changing the face of this planet for future generations." - from the publisher

"In this companion book to the bestselling Sustainable House, attention is turned to reducing the carbon emissions associated with growing, processing, transporting, selling, and disposing of food. Using the author's personal experiences as its anchor, this handbook contains practical advice on establishing community and backyard vegetable gardens, keeping chooks (chickens) and bees, and reducing water usage, along with insights into dealing with councils, sidelining supermarkets, and what people eat and why. A template is provided for those wishing to learn sustainability measures and put them into practice." - from the publisher

"With a cornucopia of essays on comestibles, The Edible City considers how one city eats. It includes dishes on peaches and poverty, on processing plants and public gardens, on rats and bees and bad restaurant service, on schnitzel and school lunches. There are incisive studies of food-safety policy, of feeding the poor, and of waste, and a happy tale about a hardy fig tree." - from the publisher

"The Slow Food movement was established in Italy as a response to the dominance of fast food chains, supermarkets, and large-scale agribusiness. Defending "the universal right to pleasure," it promotes food production and consumption based on "good, clean, and fair" local products. In twenty years Slow Food has grown into an international organisation with more than 80,000 members in over 100 countries. With roots in the 1960s and 1970s counter-culture, Slow Food's distinctive politics link gastronomic pleasure and environmental responsibility." - from the pubisher

"Just as the Canada's rich past resists any singular narrative, there is no such thing as a singular Canadian food tradition. This new book explores Canada's diverse food cultures and the varied relationships that Canadians have had historically with food practices in the context of community, region, nation and beyond. Based on findings from menus, cookbooks, government documents, advertisements, media sources, oral histories, memoirs, and archival collections, Edible Histories offers a veritable feast of original research on Canada's food history and its relationship to culture and politics." - from the publisher

"A staple of the food-writing genre that prefigured the current locavore and foodist movements by almost two decades, Margaret Visser’s Much Depends on Dinner is a delightful and intelligent history of the food we eat, and a cornucopia of incredible details about the ways we do it.
Presented as a meal, each chapter of Much Depends on Dinner represents a different course or garnish, which Margaret Visser handpicks from the most ordinary American dinner: corn on the cob with butter and salt, roast chicken with rice, salad dressed in lemon juice and olive oil, and ice cream. Visser tells the story behind each of these foods and in the course of her inquiries reveals some unexpected treats: the history of Corn Flakes; the secret behind the more dissatisfactory California olives (they’re picked green, chemically blackened, and sterilized); and the fact that, in Africa, citrus fruits are eaten whole, rind and all." - from the publisher

""What's to Eat?" serves up twelve preliminary answers to initiate and nourish the discussion of food in Canada. How Canadians procure, produce, cook, consume, and think about food creates a cuisine, and a nation of immigrant traditions producing a distinctive and evolving repertoire that is neither hodgepodge nor smorgasbord. Contributors, who come from the diverse worlds of universities, museums, the media, and gastronomy, look at Canada's distinctive foodways from the shared perspective of the current moment." - from the publisher

"Nothing More Comforting is a reflection of our society: an eclectic mix of many different cultures and traditions. Dorothy Duncan – with her extensive knowledge of heritage foods – has chosen her favourite "Country Fare" columns from the popular Century Home magazine for this wonderful book on Canada’s heritage cuisine. Each chapter focuses on one particular food or ingredient followed by historical facts and traditional recipes for you to try at home." - from the publisher

"Focusing on the five premier spices—black pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and chili pepper—while also relating the story of many others along the way, Czarra describes how spices have been used in cooking throughout history and how their spread has influenced regional cuisines around the world. Chili peppers, for example, migrated west from the Americas with European sailors and spread rapidly in the Philippines and then to India and the rest of Asia, where the spice quickly became essential to local cuisines. The chili pepper also traveled west from India to Hungary, where it eventually became the national spice—paprika." - from the publisher

"From the phosphate mines in Idaho to the oil fields in China to the Hostess factories and their practices, Twinkie, Deconstructed demystifies some of the most common processed food ingredients, where they come from, how they are made, how they are used, and why. Beginning at the source (hint: they're often more closely linked to rock and petroleum than any of the four food groups), we follow each Twinkie ingredient through the process of being crushed, baked, fermented, refined, and/or reacted into a totally unrecognizable goo or powder, all for the sake of creating a simple snack cake." - From the publisher

"A Visual History of Cookery is a review of the visual representation of food historically and globally. The book looks at food throughout the ages, the development of food branding, the culture of celebrity chefs and the stylization of the cookbook.
The book is split into sections which explore the culinary traditions from Italy, France, Spain and the USA, with vibrant food photography and illustrations depicting cooking methods, celebrated dishes, eating habits and food festivals. A Visual History of Cookery also takes a look at the iconic branding behind the food we buy and the restaurants we eat in—from McDonalds to the critically acclaimed El Bulli. Alongside features on celebrity chefs including Gordon Ramsay, Delia Smith, Giorgio Locatelli and the fictional Betty Crocker.
Visually stunning with contributions from esteemed food writers, chefs and restaurateurs including AA Gill, Ferran Adrià, Anthony Bourdain and Alice Waters, A Visual History of Cookery is a book that all foodies, designers and homemakers will relish." - from the publisher

"In Hot Dog, well known food historian Bruce Kraig recounts the history of this popular “tube steak” from the origin of the sausage 20,000 years ago to its central place in American culture today. Kraig discusses the many brands, including Hebrew National, Pearl, Sabrett, and Vienna Beef, and the regional variations that go along with them—like kosher-style New York dogs loaded with mustard and sauerkraut, New England dogs with Boston Baked Beans, and fully-loaded Chicago style hotdogs, complete with mustard, onion, relish, sport peppers, a dill pickle spear, a dash of celery salt, and tomato slices (but never, ever ketchup)." - from the publisher

"Andrew F. Smith traces the trajectory of hamburger history, from its humble beginnings as a nineteenth-century street food sold by American vendors, from which it soon spread to the menus of diners and restaurants. The sandwich came into its own with the 1921 opening of the first hamburger chain, White Castle, and subsequent successful food chains such as McDonald’s and Wendy’s ensured the burger’s success in the United States and around the world. The hamburger irrevocably changed American life, Smith argues, as the sandwich propelled the rise of fast food over home-cooked meals in Americans’ eating habits. At the same time, burgers were making inroads in American culture, as well as becoming a rich symbol in paintings, television, and movies. Smith also discusses the darker nutritional, economic, and cultural conflicts raised by the hamburger, such as the “McDonaldization” of international cultures." - from the publisher

"This charming book tells the remarkable story of the bagel’s journey from the tables of seventeenth-century Poland to the freezers of middle America today, a story of often surprising connections between a cheap market-day snack and centuries of Polish, Jewish, and American history. Research in international archives and numerous personal interviews uncover the bagel’s links with the defeat of the Turks by Polish King Jan Sobieski in 1683, the Yiddish cultural revival of the late nineteenth century, and Jewish migration across the Atlantic to America. There the story moves from the bakeries of New York’s Lower East Side to the Bagel Bakers’ Local 388 Union of the 1960s, and the attentions of the mob." - from the publisher

"Pancake traverses over centuries and civilizations to examine the culinary and cultural importance of pancakes in human history. From the Russian blini to the Ethiopian injera, Albala reveals how pancakes have been a perennial source of sustenance from Greek and Roman eras to the Middle Ages through to the present day. He explores how the pancake has gained symbolic currency in diverse societies as a comfort food, a portable victual for travelers, a celebratory dish, and a breakfast meal. The book also features a number of historic and modern recipes—tracing the first official pancake recipe to a sixteenth-century Dutch cook—and is accompanied by a rich selection of illustrations." - from the publisher

"Originally a food for the poor in eighteenth-century Naples, the pizza is a source of national and regional pride as well as cultural identity in Italy, Helstosky reveals. In the twentieth century, the pizza followed Italian immigrants to America, where it became the nation’s most popular dish and fueled the rise of successful fast-food corporations such as Pizza Hut and Domino’s. Along the way, Helstosky explains, pizza has been adapted to local cuisines and has become a metaphor for cultural exchange. Pizza also features several recipes and a wealth of illustrations, including a photo of the world’s largest and most expensive pizza—sprinkled with edible 24-karat gold shavings and costing over $4000." - from the publisher