Research Guides: ENVR-4901: ED Thesis Studio 1: Key Databases

Top Databases for Architecture and Design

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Combines content from Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984), Art & Architecture Complete. Provides access to more than 630 international full-text journals and thousands of images, books and magazine articles.
Help Guide
Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full-text access to more than 400 journals and magazines with subject coverage of design, crafts, architecture, philosophy and history. It includes the art and design indexes ARTbibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index and the International Bibliography of Art.
Bloomsbury Architecture Library This link opens in a new window
A leading resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. Its dynamic digital platform offers access to wide-ranging collections of text and image content, from architectural history to cutting-edge design guidance. Now live on the Bloomsbury Visual Arts digital hub.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR archive includes the backfile content of more than 2,500 research journals in a variety of disciplines. OCAD U Library currently subscribes to fourteen JSTOR archival collections: Arts & Sciences I XIII and Life Sciences (includes Biological and Health & General Science) collections. As part of JSTORs agreement with publishers current issues are not typically available on the platform (often the most recent 2-5 years) but may be accessible through other library databases.
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
Images, descriptions, contact information for materials and manufacturers. Browse of search by application, material properties, country of original.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a non-profit organization founded by Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library and supported by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. MUSE provides full-text access to 600+ scholarly journals published by more than 120 university presses and scholarly societies in the fields of visual arts, cultural studies, gender studies, economics and others.
Note: The Library provides current full-text access to many JSTOR Current titles via Project MUSE.