Angus Mok's Course Resource Hub

• Use Boolean Operators: Combine or exclude keywords using AND, OR, and NOT to refine your search results. For example:

• "astronomical scales" AND "dark matter": To find articles that discuss both topics.
• "color theory" OR "spectroscopy": To include results that mention either term, covering a broader range of topics related to the science of color.
• "quantitative research methods" NOT "qualitative analysis": To focus specifically on studies using quantitative methods, excluding qualitative research.

• Use Quotation Marks for Exact Phrases: When searching for specific phrases, use quotation marks to ensure the database searches for the exact wording. For instance:

• "The Science of Colour": To find materials that specifically discuss this interdisciplinary approach to color.
• "large scale structure of the Universe": To locate articles or studies that address this specific aspect of astronomy.

• Apply Filters: Use database filters to narrow down your search results. Common filters include:

• Date Range: Limit results to recent studies on topics like "space exploration advancements" or historical studies on "the history of colour perception."
• Publication Type: Specify the type of resource you're looking for, such as articles, eBooks, or journals, especially in areas like "astronomy research" or "statistical methodologies."
• Subject Area: Focus on specific disciplines, such as "Physics," "Art and Design," or "Statistics," to find more relevant materials within those fields.

• Use Advanced Search: Utilize advanced search options provided by databases to refine your search. You can specify fields like:

• Title: Search for works specifically titled "The Big Questions in Science" or "Statistics in Research."
• Author: If you're looking for works by a particular researcher or author in fields like astronomy or color science.
• Abstract: To find studies that include key terms like "microscopic scales" or "visual perception" in their abstracts.
• Subject Terms: Use terms such as "astronomy methodologies" or "color harmony principles" to pinpoint articles focusing on these specific areas.

1. Astronomy - Scales & Structures

• Search Tips:
  • Use Specific Keywords: When searching for materials related to astronomy, use keywords that target specific scales or structures. For example, "microscopic scales in astronomy" or "macroscopic structure of galaxies".
  • Include Wavelengths and Visuals: Since astronomy is a visual science, include terms like "astronomical imaging techniques" or "wavelengths in astronomy". This can help you find resources on how different technologies capture visual data.
  • Combine Terms for Broader Search: Use combinations like "dark matter" AND "large scale structure of the Universe" to find comprehensive studies on how these concepts relate.
  • Boolean Operators for Complexity: Use "dark energy" NOT "dark matter" if you want to focus on one aspect without the other.

2. The Science of Colour

• Search Tips:
  • Cross-disciplinary Keywords: Since this course covers art, physics, chemistry, and physiology, use interdisciplinary terms like "color perception in art" or "wave nature of light in color theory".
  • Narrow by Techniques: Use keywords like "spectroscopy in color analysis" or "color harmony principles" to find resources focused on specific scientific techniques or artistic principles.
  • Historical Context: If exploring the history of color, use phrases like "historical use of dyes and pigments" or "evolution of color perception in art".
  • Boolean Operators for Broader Concepts: Use "color harmony" OR "color contrast" to explore different aspects of how color is used and perceived.

3. The Big Questions in Science

• Search Tips:
  • Focus on Major Topics: Use direct keywords related to the big questions such as "climate change science" or "genetic engineering ethical implications".
  • Cross-cultural Perspectives: Since the course covers Western and non-Western perspectives, search with terms like "non-Western perspectives on science" or "history of science in different cultures".
  • Explore Societal Impact: Use combinations like "technological advancements" AND "societal impact" to find articles discussing the influence of scientific developments on society.
  • Use Abstracts for Clarity: Read abstracts to quickly identify if the material covers the broad or specific questions discussed in the course.

4. Statistics

• Search Tips:
  • Target Methodologies: Use precise keywords related to research methods such as "quantitative research methods" or "statistical analyses in social sciences".
  • Narrow by Application: If interested in the application of statistics in different fields, use terms like "statistical methods in art research" or "data analysis in design studies".
  • Boolean Operators for Specific Focus: Use "data analysis" AND "evidence-based perspectives"to find resources on how statistical analysis supports research conclusions.
  • Advanced Search Filters: Utilize database filters to search within abstracts or subject terms for concepts like "research study design" or "critical thinking in statistical analysis".

General Search Tips

• Use Quotation Marks for Exact Phrases: Use "dark matter in astronomy" or "color theory in physics" to find exact matches.
• Apply Filters: Utilize filters for date range to find the most recent research, or focus on publication type such as peer-reviewed articles or books.
• Advanced Search Options: Use advanced search fields like title or abstract for specific terms related to these topics, like "visual perception in color science" or "galactic structures in astronomy".

• Synonyms and Variations: Use different synonyms or variations of your keywords to broaden your search scope. For instance:

• For "three-dimensional design," try using terms like "3D design" or "spatial design."
• For "sustainable materials," consider alternatives such as "eco-friendly materials" or "green materials."

• Expand your search to include related terms, such as:

• Astronomy: Use variations like "celestial structures," "cosmic scales," "stellar formations," or "astronomical morphology." Consider terms related to the course content, such as "microscopic scales," "macroscopic scales," "dark matter," or "dark energy."
• Colour Science: Search using variations like "colour theory," "spectroscopy," "visual perception," "wave nature of light," or "colour harmony." Incorporate related topics from the course such as "dyes and pigments," "natural phenomena," or "colour contrast."
• Statistics: Include keywords like "quantitative research methods," "statistical analyses," "research methodologies," "data analysis," "evidence-based perspectives," and "research study design."

• Check Subject Headings and Keywords: Once you identify a relevant article, review the subject headings or keywords it uses. This can guide you in refining and expanding your search within databases. For example:

• If an article on "celestial structures" uses the subject heading "cosmic morphology," include this term in subsequent searches to discover more relevant resources.
• For "colour theory," if "visual perception" is used as a subject heading, incorporate it to find articles from a physiological perspective.

• Search within Results: Use the 'search within results' feature to narrow your initial search to more specific aspects of your topic. For example:

• After an initial search on "astronomical scales," use terms like "galactic structures," "nebulae," "stellar evolution," or "universe large-scale structure" within the results to zero in on specific research areas.
• For "colour science," refine your search with keywords like "spectroscopy in art," "colour perception in history," or "colour harmony in design."

• Use Abstracts and Summaries: Skim through abstracts or summaries to quickly assess the relevance of an article. Focus on key points that align with your research focus, such as methodologies or specific case studies. For example:

• In articles about "The Big Questions in Science," look for sections discussing "climate change," "genetic engineering," "space exploration," or "Western and non-Western perspectives in science" to see if they match your research interests.
• For research on "statistics," check for discussions on "quantitative methods," "data interpretation," or "research evidence evaluation" to gauge relevance.