Since 1973, The ArQuives has been acquiring and preserving material documenting Canadian LGBTQ2+ history. [Their] mandate is to acquire, preserve, organize, and provide public access to information and materials, in any medium, by and about LGBTQ2+ people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada.
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective. Help Guide
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.
Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996.
The glbtq project was founded in 2000 [...] to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online.
Use keyword search for extensive coverage of biographies, as well as themes and history of LGBTQ culture. Includes "Arts" and "Literature" pages with information listed by topic.
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBTQ activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Independent Voices is made possible by the funding support received from these libraries and donors across the U.S., Canada and the U.K. Through their funding, these libraries and donors are demonstrating their commitment to open access digital collections.
Content for the Independent Voices collection was selected through recommendations by scholars, librarians, publishers, and selected bibliographies. The copyrighted periodicals that are included in the Independent Voices collection are being made available by the explicit permission of the copyright holder, assignee, or transferee; which were obtained in writing by Reveal Digital home page.
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
This collection has cross-disciplinary relevance beyond LGBT courses, serving research and teaching needs in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
The Rise Up! project aims to create a digital archive of original publications, documents, flyers, posters, and many other materials representing feminist activism from the 1970s to 1990s.
In this unique illustrated guide, Meg-John Barker and Jules Scheele travel through our shifting understandings of gender across time and space from ideas about masculinity and femininity, to non-binary and trans genders, to intersecting experiences of gender, race, sexuality, class, disability, and more. Tackling current debates and tensions, which can divide communities and even cost lives, Barker and Scheele look to the past and the future to explore how we might all approach gender in more caring and celebratory ways.
The ArQuives, the largest independent LGBTQ2+ archive in the world, is dedicated to collecting, preserving, and celebrating the stories and histories of LGBTQ2+ people in Canada. Since 1973, volunteers have amassed a vast collection of important artifacts that speak to personal experiences and significant historical moments for Canadian queer communities. Out North: An Archive of Queer Activism and Kinship in Canada is a fascinating exploration and examination of one nation's queer history and activism, and Canada's definitive visual guide to LGBTQ2+ movements, struggles, and achievements.
A visually stunning graphic non-fiction book on queer and trans resistance. Over the past ten years, we have witnessed the rise of queer and trans communities that have defied and challenged those who have historically opposed them. Through bold, symbolic imagery and surrealist, overlapping landscapes, queer illustrator and curator Syan Rose shines a light on the faces and voices of these diverse, amorphous, messy, real, and imagined queer and trans communities. In their own words, queer and trans organizers, artists, healers, comrades, and leaders speak honestly and authentically about their own experiences with power, love, pain, and magic to create a textured and nuanced portrait of queer and trans realities in America. The many themes include Black femme mental health, Pacific Islander authorship, fat queer performance art, disability and health care practice, sex worker activism, and much more. Accompanying the narratives are Rose's startling and sinuous images that brings these leaders' words to visual life. Our Work Is Everywhere is a graphic non-fiction book that underscores the brilliance and passion of queer and trans resistance. Includes a foreword by Lambda Literary Award-winning author and activist Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha, author of Care Work: Dreaming Disability Justice.
Launched in New York City, in 1992, the Lesbian Avengers rejected the picket line and ordinary demo for media-savvy, nonviolent direct action. They were superheroes arriving "to make the world safe for baby dykes everywhere;" warriors with capes and shields doing a line dance; dykes "Lusting for Power," pushing a giant bed float down Sixth Avenue in New York (with lesbians on it); nationally-ambitious Avengers eating fire in front of a hostile White House; lovers reuniting a statue of Alice B. The Lesbian Avenger Handbook contains everything a budding troublemaker needs to know. From how to hold a meeting, to a step-by-step guide, to mind-blowing actions. With new content essential for activists and historians alike.
Activist-academic Meg-John Barker and cartoonist Julia Scheele illuminate the histories of queer thought and LGBTQ+ action in this groundbreaking non-fiction graphic novel. A kaleidoscope of characters from the diverse worlds of pop-culture, film, activism and academia guide us on a journey through the ideas, people and events that have shaped queer theory. From identity politics and gender roles to privilege and exclusion, Queer explores how we came to view sex, gender and sexuality in the ways that we do; how these ideas get tangled up with our culture and our understanding of biology, psychology and sexology; and how these views have been disputed and challenged.
This unique anthology combines comics with scholarship for a stunning and heart-felt inquiry into the current state of queer men's physical, mental, emotional and sexual health. With over 30 contributing artists, comics explore subjects like online dating, fat-shaming, gender dysphoria, top surgery, good consent, and overcoming adversity with the help of a friend or partner. 'Rainbow Reflections' is, at its core, a book of self-love and self-care.
"Covering essential topics like sexuality, gender identity, coming out, and navigating relationships, this guide explains the spectrum of human experience through informative comics, interviews, worksheets, and imaginative examples. A great starting point for anyone curious about queer and trans life, and helpful for those already on their own journeys!" -- Back cover.
What if you could trust in getting the health care you need in ways that felt good and helped you thrive? What if the health system honoured and valued queer and trans people's lives, bodies, and expertise? What if LGBTQ+ communities led and organized our own health care as a form of mutual aid? What if every aspect of our health care was rooted in a commitment to our healing, pleasure, and liberation? LGBTQ+ health care doesn't look like this today, but it could. This is the care we dream of. The Care We Dream Of is not quite an essay collection, and not quite an anthology. Instead, it's a hybrid kind of book that weaves together the author's essays on topics like queering health and healing, transforming the health system, kinship, aging, and death, alongside stories, poetry and non-fiction pieces by Alexander McClelland and Zoe Dodd, Blyth Barnow, Carly Boyce, jaye simpson, Jillian Christmas, Joshua Wales, Kai Cheng Thom, Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha, and Sand C. Chang. The book also includes interviews with activists, health care workers and researchers whose work offers insights into what liberatory and transformative approaches to LGBTQ+ health can look like in practice. Interviewees include Anita "Durt" O'Shea (of St. James Infirmary), Dawn Serra, Hannah Kia, Ronica Mukerjee, and Sean Saifa Wall. The Care We Dream Of offers possibilities - grounded in historical examples, present-day experiments, and dreams of the future - for more liberatory and transformative approaches to LGBTQ+ health and healing. It challenges readers to think differently about LGBTQ+ health and asks what it would look like if our health care were rooted in a commitment to the flourishing and liberation of all LGBTQ+ people. This book is a calling out, a out, a calling in, and a call to action. It is a spell of healing and transformation, rooted in love.
Merging critical theory, autobiography, and sexological archival research, Queer Embodiment provides insight into what it means to have a legible body in the West. Hil Malatino explores how intersexuality became an anomalous embodiment assumed to require correction and how contesting this pathologization can promote medical reform and human rights for intersex and trans people. Malatino traces both institutional and interpersonal failures to dignify non-sexually dimorphic bodies and examines how the ontology of gender difference developed by modern sexologists conflicts with embodied experience. Malatino comprehensively shows how gender-normalizing practices begin at the clinic but are amplified thereafter through mechanisms of institutional exclusion and through Eurocentric culture's cis-centric and bio-normative notions of sexuality, reproductive capacity, romantic partnership, and kinship. Combining personal accounts with archival evidence, Queer Embodiment presents intersexuality as the conceptual center of queerness, the figure through which nonnormative genders and desires are and have been historically understood. We must reconsider the medical, scientific, and philosophical discourse on intersexuality underlying contemporary understandings of sexed selfhood in order to understand gender anew as a process of becoming that exceeds restrictive binary logic.
The Everyday Lives of Gay Men draws on the expertise of twelve contributors from different countries and fields, writing from an autoethnographic first person approach. Putting the power of personal stories at the centre of the construction of sophisticated narratives of gay mens lives, the accounts draw attention to the limits of traditional perspectives to gay mens studies that look at gayness through a sexualised lens and explore how gay men make sense of their identity in their everyday lives. Together they present a complex, nuanced understanding of gayness and challenge the conception of being gay as a sexual orientation because it describes in sexual terms an identity that is not only, not always, and not predominantly sexual. The innovative approach of The Everyday Lives of Gay Men makes it ideal for students and Scholars in Gender Studies, Sexuality Studies, Sociology, Mental Health, and Research Methods
The Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities. In recent years, people have begun to grapple with these issues in a healthier, more public way, and mental health practitioners must be prepared to meet their patients with the knowledge, understanding, and grasp of the context in which patients live their lives. The editors have brought their specialized knowledge to the project and, along with contributors who are experts in the field of LGBTQ mental health, have created a book of uncommon empathy. The volume's structure is simple, consistent, and effective, with 10 chapters covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, asexual, pansexual, and allied individuals. Some chapters overlap because some people identify with more than one of these identities. The writers have drawn on both the scientific literature and their own clinical experience to create a volume that is informative, practical, and easy to read [...] Written in a conversational style that will appeal to patients and families, as well as clinicians, the Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health explores the psychological and cultural context for each gender or sexual identity in a comprehensive, realistic, and affirming way.
This article uses a duoethnographic approach to explore the intersection of lesbian and queer sexualities and transgender identities in intimate relationships. By comparing experiences of gender and sexual identity negotiation within transgender relationships, the authors document how sexual identity borders are traversed, and how gender is negotiated and interrogated in and through these relationships. We argue that our differential experiences of ‘queer’ as an identity, our relationship challenges and how we express/relate to gender are heavily shaped by feminist politics, and how social interactions are gendered.
Vincent, Ben, and Sonja Erikainen. “Gender, Love, and Sex: Using Duoethnography to Research Gender and Sexuality Minority Experiences of Transgender Relationships.” Sexualities 23.1-2 (2020): 28–43. Web.
In this paper, we report on our survey research which sought to explore how pansexual and panromantic people experience and understand their identities. Eighty participants, mainly in the U.K., were recruited via social media and internet forums. Thematic analysis resulted in the development of two key themes. In The label depends on the context: It's like bisexuality, but it isn't, we report the blurred lines between pansexual and bisexual identities and discuss how, despite often having a preference for pansexual and panromantic, these participants nonetheless engaged in strategic use of both bi and pan terms. In the second theme entitled Educated and enlightened pansexuals we report how participants portrayed pansexual and panromantic identities as requiring an advanced understanding of gender and sexuality. This meant that those who engaged in these terms were represented as educated and enlightened. In the subtheme An internet education: Tumblr-ing into pan identities and communities, we discuss how educational resources and inclusive spaces were largely understood to exist only online. In this research, participants understood pansexual and panromantic identities to be related to, but distinct from, other identities (including bisexuality) and presented their identities as entailing distinctive experiences, including of prejudice and discrimination. We discuss the contribution and implications of our findings.
Hayfield, Nikki, and Karolína Křížová. “It’s Like Bisexuality, but It Isn’t: Pansexual and Panromantic People’s Understandings of Their Identities and Experiences of Becoming Educated About Gender and Sexuality.” Journal of bisexuality 21.2 (2021): 167–193. Web.
This article offers two suggestions for the future of queer communication studies: First, we should continue to use language carefully and thoughtfully, especially about gender, sex, gender identity, and sexual orientation. Second, queer communication scholarship should be intentionally and meaningfully intersectional, eschewing superficiality and tokenism related to race, ethnicity, and nationality.
Spencer, Leland G. “Looking for Truths in the Stories We Tell in Queer Communication Studies.” Communication and critical/cultural studies 18.2 (2021): 221–227. Web.
This discussion offers a reflection on some of the shifts and developments in the field of queer studies in Canada since the turn of the century. It situates these developments against, and in relation to, a longer history of queer politics in Canada while also emphasizing key moments and critical turns. Also examined here are the ways in which Indigenous studies, decolonial critiques, diaspora studies, and critical race studies have offered key interventions and heralded new horizons within the field. In thinking about these interventions and intersections, we frame our account through an emphasis on returns and revisions rather than a discourse of progress, which is what typically defines Canadian state narratives.
Cummings, Ronald, and Sharlee Cranston-Reimer. “Queer Formations and Horizons: Rethinking Queer Canadian Studies.” Journal of Canadian studies 54.2 (2020): 213–227. Print.
Gender: a Graphic Guide by 
Out North by 
Our Work Is Everywhere by 
The Lesbian Avenger Handbook by 
Queer: a Graphic History by 
Rainbow Reflections by 
A Quick and Easy Guide to Queer and Trans Identities by 
The Care We Dream Of: Liberatory & Transformative Approaches to LGBTQ+ Health by 
Queer Embodiment by 
The Everyday Lives of Gay Men by 
Pocket Guide for Understanding LGBTQ Mental Health by