Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OCAD U Zine Library

Welcome to the OCAD U Zine Library! 

zine library

 

The OCAD U Zine Library is an ever-growing collection of self-published and handmade publications located in the Learning Zone at OCAD University. The collection was created to inspire, educate and entertain, to encourage collaboration between OCAD U students and to open up the world of zines for readers and creators everywhere!

Search the Collection

To search the OCAD U Zine Library catalogue, visit Arstor's Public Collections.

Make sure to check the "Search within results" box next to the search box to search for zines in our collection. Searching without selecting this option will retrieve results from all Artstor Public Collections. You can search by title, author, publisher, subject, material or technique.

To find terms that may be helpful to your search, browse our keyword list.

If you are planning to visit the collection in person, write down the Accession number of the zines you'd like to see. They indicate the location of the zine on the shelf. Staff in the Learning Zone can help you find it if you're having any trouble. 

 

If you're having trouble finding zines on a specific topic, try changing up your search terms or using synonyms for the search term. If you need any help finding zines in our collection, email Learning Zone Coordinator Heather Evelyn at hevelyn@ocadu.ca for a personal search consultation.  


Takedown Notice 

We have scanned the covers of the zines in our collection to improve access through searching and browsing. If you are the copyright holder for the content in any image in the collection and wish to have your content removed, please contact Heather Evelyn at hevelyn@ocadu.ca

Public Access

Members of the public are welcome to visit the zine library any time the Learning Zone is open. Please refer to the Learning Zone hours before your visit. The Learning Zone is a secured space, requiring card swipe access. Members of the public may knock on the door and indicate to the staff that they would like to view the zine collection to gain access. 

Zine Donations

The OCAD Zine Library has been built from generous donations from zinesters at OCAD University, in Toronto and worldwide. If you would like to share your zines or have a collection of your own that needs a new home, the OCAD Zine Library will happily collect, catalogue and share these publications for many years to come. 

Please mail donations to: 
Dorothy H. Hoover Library, Zine Collection 
OCAD University 
100 McCaul Street 
Toronto, ON 
M5T 1W1

We are eternally grateful for all of our zine donors, big and small. Special thanks go out to Broken Pencil Magazine for their generous donations of review zines. 

By sending your donation, you consent to have the cover of your zine scanned for use in our Zine Library catalog, to improve access to the collection through searching and browsing. In cases where zines donated are already in our collection, duplicate donations may be added to our roaming collection (used when we travel to off-site events) or donated to other zine libraries or to OCAD U students. 

Contact Us

For any questions related to the OCAD U Zine Library or this guide, please contact Learning Zone Coordinator Heather Evelyn at hevelyn@ocadu.ca.

Learn about Zine Library news, events and workshops on the OCAD U Library's Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/ocadulibrary/

If you're a current OCAD U student, check out the OCAD U Zine Collective student group to meet other zine makers and zine readers on campus! Visit https://www.instagram.com/ocaduzinecollective/ for more info about joining the group.