Research Guides: OCAD U Library 2016 Fall: Collections

New Print Books

The Anatomical Venus by Joanna Ebenstein
Call Number: NK9580 E23 A5
ISBN: 9781938922916
Publication Date: D.A.P./Distributed Art Publishers, Inc., 2016.
"Of all the artifacts from the history of medicine, the Anatomical Venus--with its heady mixture of beauty, eroticism and death--is the most seductive. These life-sized dissectible wax women reclining on moth-eaten velvet cushions--with glass eyes, strings of pearls, and golden tiaras crowning their real human hair--were created in eighteenth-century Florence as the centerpiece of the first truly public science museum. Conceived as a means to teach human anatomy, the Venus also tacitly communicated the relationship between the human body and a divinely created cosmos; between art and science, nature and mankind." -- From the publisher.
Black Is Beautiful: A Philosophy of Black Aesthetics by Roger Taylor; Paul C. Taylor
Call Number: BH301 B53 T28
ISBN: 9781405150637
Publication Date: John Wiley & Sons, Ltd, 2016.
"Black is Beautiful identifies and explores the most significant philosophical issues that emerge from the aesthetic dimensions of black life, providing a long-overdue synthesis and the first extended philosophical treatment of this crucial subject." -- From the publisher.
Mythologizing Norval Morrisseau by John S. Brierley; H. Rubenstein; Carmen Robertson
Call Number: ND249 M665 R62
ISBN: 9780887558108
Publication Date: University of Manitoba Press, 2016.
"Examines the complex identities assigned to the Anishinaabe artist Norval Morrisseau. Was he an uneducated artist plagued by alcoholism and homelessness? Was Morrisseau a shaman artist who tapped a deep spiritual force? Or was he one of Canada’s most significant artists? Carmen L. Robertson charts both the colonial attitudes and the stereotypes directed at Morrisseau and other Indigenous artists in Canada’s national press. Robertson also examines Morrisseau’s role in shaping his own image." -- From the publisher.
The New Mutants: Superheroes and the Radical Imagination of American Comics by Ramzi Fawaz
Call Number: PN6725 F28 N3
ISBN: 9781479814336
Publication Date: New York University Press, 2016.
Winner of the 2012 CLAGS Fellowship Award for Best First Book Project in LGBT Studies. "The New Mutants provides the first full-length study to consider the relationship between comic book fantasy and radical politics in the modern United States." -- From the publisher.
Paul Bulteel: Cycle and Recycle by Paul Bulteel (Photographer)
Call Number: NH274 B84 C82
ISBN: 9783775741057
Publication Date: Hatje Cantz, 2016.
"Fascinated by the discarding and recycling of consumer and industry goods, Belgian photographer Paul Bulteel visited more than 50 recycling facilities in Europe, creating images of the processes undergone by tons of materials, from paper, metal, glass or plastic products to complex appliances and all kinds of manufacturing, construction or consumer leftovers." -- From the publisher.
Political Animals: The New Feminist Cinema by Sophie Mayer
Call Number: PN1995.9 W6 M28
ISBN: 1784533726 (pbk.)
Publication Date: I.B. Tauris, 2016.
"Political Animals argues that a new wave of feminist cinema is speaking to a new audience hungry for intersectional accounts of women in the public sphere that are missing in the mainstream. It reveals how innovative production and distribution strategies are responding to urgent political situations..." -- From the publisher.
The Tale of Tomorrow: Utopian Architecture in the Modernist Realm by Sofia Borges (Editor); Sven Ehmann (Editor); Robert Klanten (Editor)
Call Number: NA209.5 T24
ISBN: 9783899555707
Publication Date: Gestalten, 2016.
"From exuberant master plans to singular architectural expressions, the rise of the utopian architectural movement in the 1960s and 1970s represents a critical shift in ideology away from mid-century traditionalism. This period shakes off the conformity and conventions of the 1950s in favor of a more experimental post-war agenda. Marked by groundbreaking reinterpretations of both the single family house as well as more large scale developments, the embrace of utopian and generally progressive thinking mirrored the cultural revolution of the times." -- From the publisher.

Library Book Sale, Oct 17-21

The library's annual book sale will take place during the week of Oct 17-22 in the lobby of the main building at 100 McCaul. It's going to be a BIG one this year! Come by and stock up on art and design books at seriously discounted prices. This year we have a lot of photography books as well as the usual arts and general interest topics. Cash sales only. All proceeds go towards supporting library collections.

New eBook Collection

ACLS Humanities E-Books

OCAD U's Library is now offering access to ACLS Humanities E-Books. This resource includes 4,680 full-text, cross-searchable books in the humanities, selected by scholars for their continuing importance for research and teaching. Content includes many prize-winning works selected in collaboration with member societies of the American Council of Learned Societies and more than 100 publishers. The collection encompasses a variety of subject areas, including LGBT/queer studies, film and media studies, indigenous cultures, art and architectural history and literary criticism.

Image credit: Tina Franklin

New DVD Films

J'ai tué ma mère = I killed my mother by A film by Xavier Dolan ; producer, Xavier Dolan ; screenplay and dialogues, Xavier Dolan
Call Number: DVD2219
Publication Date: 2013.
"Focusing on the relationship between Hubert Minel, a 16-year-old Quebecois living in suburban Montreal, and his single mother Chantale, the film beautifully captures the anxieties of a mother-son relationship. While he gauges her with contempt, only seeing her out-of-date sweater and kitschy decor, the ingrained mechanisms (i.e. manipulation and guilt) of their relationship beautifully (and tragically) unravel on the big screen."
Mr. Turner by Mike Leigh (director/writer)
Call Number: DVD2214
Publication Date: 2015
"Explores the last quarter century of the great if eccentric British painter J.M.W. Turner (1775-1851). Profoundly affected by the death of his father, loved by a housekeeper he takes for granted and occasionally exploits sexually, he forms a close relationship with a seaside landlady with whom he eventually lives incognito in Chelsea, where he dies."
Rhymes for Young Ghouls by Directed and written by Jeff Barnaby ; produced by John Christou
Call Number: DVD2221
Publication Date: 2014
"Red Crow Mi'gMaq reservation, 1976: By government decree, every Indian child under the age of 16 must attend residential school. In the kingdom of the Crow, that means imprisonment at St. Dymphna's. That means being at the mercy of "Popper", the sadistic Indian agent who runs the school. At 15, Aila is the weed princess of Red Crow. Hustling with her uncle Burner, she sells enough dope to pay Popper her "truancy tax", keeping her out of St. D's. But when Aila's drug money is stolen and her father Joseph returns from prison, the precarious balance of Aila's world is destroyed. Her only options are to run or fight... and Mi'gMaq don't run."--Container.
The Wolfpack by director, Crystal Moselle.
Call Number: DVD2213
Publication Date: 2015
"The six Angulo brothers have grown up in their Manhattan apartment, home schooled by their parents, rarely if ever leaving their apartment. Their only connection to the outside world is television and the movies they watch and act out, complete with homemade costumes, in the apartment. When one of the brothers sneaks out for a few days on his own, the whole family dynamic is changed when he returns home."