Research Guides: SOSC-3005: Mental Health: Sci Cult Soc: Find Articles

Databases to use for Research

1. Mental Health and Mental Disorders

CINAHL Plus with Full Text: For clinical and health-related research on mental health conditions, disparities, and treatments.
SAGE Journals: For social and psychological studies of mental health issues, including stigma and historical perspectives.
Oxford Academic Journals: Offers journals with insights into psychology, psychiatry, and mental health policy.

2. Mental Health in Media

JSTOR: For historical and cultural studies on media representations of mental health.
Project MUSE: For scholarly articles exploring the influence of media on mental health perceptions and social attitudes.
SAGE Journals: For media studies focusing on mental health in popular culture, television, and film.

3. Public Health Campaigns

CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Access to public health campaigns, particularly those related to mental health awareness and interventions.
SAGE Knowledge: Offers resources on public health communication strategies and the design of mental health campaigns.
Films on Demand – Master Academic Collection: For documentaries on public health and mental health campaigns.

4. Critical Media Analysis

JSTOR: For academic studies on media analysis techniques such as discourse analysis and semiotics.
Project MUSE: Provides scholarly works on critical theory, useful for analyzing media representations of mental health.
SAGE Journals: For articles on media criticism and the societal impact of media on mental health.

5. Cultural and Social Context

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA): For articles on Canadian mental health policies and cultural perspectives on mental health.
Project MUSE: For cultural studies on mental health across different populations and regions.
JSTOR: Offers research on the intersection of mental health and social context, including race, gender, and socioeconomic factors.

6. Theoretical and Course Concepts

SAGE Knowledge: Access to textbooks and reference works on mental health, communication theory, and public health models.
Oxford Academic Journals: For theoretical insights into mental health, media studies, and health communication models.
JSTOR: For critical theory and academic discourse related to mental health media.

7. Effectiveness and Persuasiveness of Media

SAGE Journals: For research on the effectiveness of health communication strategies and persuasion techniques in media.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Offers clinical perspectives on mental health campaigns' success in changing public perceptions.
Press Reader: Provides access to current news and media sources for analysis of public reception to mental health campaigns.

8. Social Media and Mental Health

SAGE Journals: For studies on the role of social media in shaping mental health discourse and public perception.
Project MUSE: For articles on social media, digital health communication, and their impact on mental health awareness.
JSTOR: Offers research on the broader cultural effects of social media on mental health advocacy.

9. Ethical Considerations in Media Representations of Mental Health

JSTOR: For academic discourse on the ethics of media portrayal of mental health and illness.
SAGE Journals: For articles discussing the ethical responsibilities of media creators in representing mental health.
Project MUSE: Covers critical analyses of media ethics and social justice in mental health narratives.

10. Historical Development of Mental Health Discourse

JSTOR: Provides historical research on the evolution of mental health discourse and media representation.
Project MUSE: Offers articles on the history of mental health advocacy and media's role in shaping public opinion.
Oxford Academic Journals: For scholarly studies on the history of mental health in the media and public health policies.

11. Intersectionality and Mental Health

JSTOR: For research on how race, gender, and class influence media portrayals of mental health.
Project MUSE: For intersectional analyses of mental health in media, focusing on LGBTQ+, racial, and marginalized communities.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA): For Canadian perspectives on mental health disparities and intersectionality.

Database Links

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more. Includes Canadian Art Magazine.
Help Guide
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides access to hundreds of full-text nursing and allied health journals. Coverage includes research and health design, inclusive design resources, healthcare innovation, and integrated PICO searching. Additional resources include evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection
Films on Demand (FOD) is a streaming video service which provides access to more than 15,000 educational videos across all subject areas. It includes content from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC, PBS, Nova, and numerous other educational film producers. Special features allow users to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and embed clips (register for an account using your OCAD U email address to select and download content).
Support Centre
JSTOR
The JSTOR archive includes the backfile content of more than 2,500 research journals in a variety of disciplines. OCAD U Library currently subscribes to fourteen JSTOR archival collections: Arts & Sciences I XIII and Life Sciences (includes Biological and Health & General Science) collections. As part of JSTORs agreement with publishers current issues are not typically available on the platform (often the most recent 2-5 years) but may be accessible through other library databases.
Oxford Academic Journals
Contains issues from 500+ academic journals from 1996 onward. This multidisciplinary collection provides coverage of a broad range of research spanning the arts & humanities and sciences.
PressReader
Digital newsstand featuring 7000+ of the world's most popular newspapers & magazines.
Help Guide
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a non-profit organization founded by Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library and supported by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. MUSE provides full-text access to 600+ scholarly journals published by more than 120 university presses and scholarly societies in the fields of visual arts, cultural studies, gender studies, economics and others.

Note: The Library provides current full-text access to many JSTOR Current titles via Project MUSE.
SAGE Journals
Sage Journals provides access to more than 1,100 journals, including over 200 gold open access journals, and 400 society partners. Users can browse journals by various disciplines, such as design, architecture, humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, gender studies, media studies, and more.

About Sage
SAGE Knowledge
The Sage Knowledge collection is comprised of more than 2,500 academic ebooks and incudes an extensive reference collection of 350 handbooks and encyclopedias. Ebooks are organized into subject collections which include business and management, criminology, education, geography and environmental sciences, health and social care, history, media and communications, politics, psychology and sociology.

About Sage