ADVR-4013 Advertising Workshop 1

• Use Boolean Operators: Use AND, OR, and NOT to combine or exclude keywords. For example:

  • "consumer behavior" AND advertising
  • marketing OR "brand management"
  • "gender disparity" NOT politics

• Use Quotation Marks for Exact Phrases: When looking for specific phrases, enclose them in quotation marks. This ensures that the database searches for the exact phrase.

  • "digital advertising"
  • "media representation"

• Apply Filters: Use database filters to refine your search. Common filters include:

  • Date Range: To find recent or historical studies.
  • Publication Type: Articles, eBooks, journals, etc.
  • Subject Area: Focus on specific disciplines like marketing, sociology, or communication.

• Use Advanced Search: Many databases offer advanced search options where you can specify fields like the title, author, abstract, or subject terms to refine results.

Consumption and Consumer Behavior

• Sample Keywords: "consumer behavior", "advertising impact", "consumer psychology", "buying behavior", "consumer culture".
• Filters: Look for articles in the fields of psychology, sociology, and marketing.
• Combine Keywords: Use combinations like "consumer behavior" AND "advertising campaigns" to focus on specific aspects.

2. Media and Communication

• Sample Keywords: "media influence", "advertising in media", "communication strategies", "media representation".
• Database Selection: Use media-focused databases like Films on Demand for visual content or Press Reader for current media trends.
• Specific Media: Include terms like "social media advertising" or "television commercials" to narrow down the medium.

3. Digital Advertising and Technology

• Sample Keywords: "digital marketing", "online advertising", "SEO", "social media ads", "consumer data analytics".
• Technical Focus: In databases like ACM Digital Library, use technical terms such as "algorithmic advertising" or "ad targeting technologies".
• Narrow Down: Combine with phrases like "consumer engagement" or "digital trends" for focused results.

4. Visual and Creative Aspects

• Sample Keywords: "advertising design", "visual communication", "graphic design in advertising", "branding aesthetics".
• Database Selection: Use art-focused databases like Art Design and Architecture Collection.
• Visual Focus: Search for terms related to visual elements such as "color psychology" or "visual storytelling in ads".

5. Cultural and Social Context

• Sample Keywords: "cultural representation", "advertising and culture", "social impact of advertising", "stereotypes in advertising".
• Historical Context: Use historical databases like Mass Observation Online with terms like "history of advertising".
• Combine with Demographics: Use combinations like "gender roles in advertising" or "race and advertising" to explore specific cultural contexts.

6. Marketing and Business Resources

• Sample Keywords: "advertising strategies", "market research", "brand management", "advertising ROI".
• Business Focus: In databases like CBCA or Taylor & Francis, use terms related to business analysis such as "competitive analysis" or "advertising effectiveness".
• Narrow Focus: Combine with industry-specific terms like "pharmaceutical advertising" or "food and beverage advertising".