Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Canadian Art & Design
National Gallery of Canada
Over 9,000 images of artworks by Canadian artists, as well as video and audio recordings. Search by keyword, title, artist, nationality, or medium. Note: not all images indexed are available.
Gateway to Aboriginal Heritage
Candian Museum of Civilization: A database of images of First Nations cultural artifacts is provided, browseable by the geographic region and language group.
Virtual Museum of Canada
Search "Image Gallery" to find thousands of works by major Canadian artists.
Vancouver Art in the Sixties
Morris & Helen Belkin Art Gallery, UBC: Browse by format or keyword search for images and background information on selected artists from the Vancouver area.
Canadian Architecture Collection
McGill University : Access to numerous image archives, including the Moshe Safdie Hypermedia Archive and the Erickson Archive.
Expo 67 in Montreal: A photo Collection about Canada's Centennial Celebration!
Hosted by the National Film Board of Canada, this archival site offers a wealth of primary documents on this iconic moment in Canadian culture. Scroll down for alphabetic list of Pavilions and Thematic Buildings to view photographs, audio and video clips, graphic design, brochures, some site and floor plans of pavilions.
History of Canadian Furniture (1945 - 1985)
Slide show of major Canadian furniture designers; low resolution images, but useful for referencing names.
Archives of Ontario
Select "Online Exhibits" to view images related to Ontario's history.
Government of Canada : Over 65,000 photographic images, lithographs and reproductions of Canadian subjects.
National Archives of Canada
Some digitized collections arranged by subject. Click "ArchivaNet" to search historic Canadian photograph collection.
City of Toronto Archives: Image Search
Select "scanned photographs only" in image search to access hundreds of photographs from Toronto's history. Select advanced or simple search and use keywords or browse by date.
Glenbow Museum: Archival Photographs
Catalogue containing 86,000 historical photographs, illustrations, cartoons and posters documenting the people, landscape and development of the Canadian West from the 1870s to the 1980s.
Canadian Film Encyclopedia
Film Reference Library
Contains over 750 film titles, biographical and subject entries. Coverage is of Canada's historical and contemporary films and filmakers. This site lists many other print and electronic resources.
National Film Board of Canada (NFB)
Videos of NFB films, documentaries, animations. Most of the films are freely available online; however, 500 additional films are available through this link. The additional films are currently only available on-campus.