Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Architectural & Environmental Design Images
Alsop, William. Alsop Architects
Visually engaging site displaying Alsop's work by thematic concepts.
Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America
Library of Congress : 29,000 images of interiors and exteriors of homes and industrial, retail and historic buildings.
Canadian Architecture Collection
McGill University : Access to numerous image archives, including the Moshe Safdie Hypermedia Archive and the Erickson Archive.
Images of buildings and some architectural drawings. Search by era, architect, designer or keyword.
Emporis: Database on skyscrapers and tall structures
Search by city for images of structures, including ones that have been proposed, demolished or were "never built."
Great Buildings Collection
Architecture Week: Search by architect, place, or building name. Note: Not all buildings have accompanying images.
The online catalog & image database of the College of Environmental Design Visual Resources Center University of California, Berkeley. Thumbnail images only with brief information on building.
40 Centuries of international architecture. Browse by location, subject or period.
World's Fair Art & Architecture: Digital Archive 1851 – 1986
Open Source: from the Architecture Library, University of Maryland, includes list of World's Fairs from 1851-1970 with accompanying images and background information.
Furniture, Decorative Arts & Interior Design
Canadiana - Important Canadian Design
Includes biographies of 12 iconic Canadian designers, information on the manufacturers of furniture, ceramics, lighting and enamelware.
History of Canadian Furniture (1945 - 1985)
Slide show of major Canadian furniture designers; low resolution images, but useful for referencing names.
Maynard Parker Modern Photography: Negatives, Photographs and Other Material
Huntington Library, Art Collections, and Botanical Gardens : Maynard L. Parker (1901-1976) was a Los Angeles-based architectural and garden photographer who contributed images to many of the nation’s premiere home design publications from the 1930s - 1970s. The archive consists of approximately 56,000 negatives, transparencies, and photographs.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) Image Search:
Farnham Campus of The University College for the Creative Arts, UK: Includes over 100,000 images "free for use in education." Includes painting, sculpture, furniture design, graphic design, illustration, book design. Includes images from the Parker Knoll chair collection.
Advertising & Graphic Design
Images of print ads from 1940 to 2000 in a number of categories. Browse or search.
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
Duke University. Browse thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others. Help Guide
Book Cover Archive
Over 1,000 images of book covers from 20th century. Search or browse by title, author, publisher, illustrator, photographer, or typeface.
Emergence of Advertising in America:1850-1920
Duke University : Over 9,000 images available by browsing a chronological timeline, or searching by "Famous People," Product, or Company.
Howard Besser's T-Shirt Database
Berkley University : Images of 533 t-shirts from the 1960s through to the present.
International Poster Collection
Colorado State University : Images from the Colorado International Invitational Poster Exhibition from 1991 to the present.
Posteritati: Movie Poster Online Gallery
Images can be searched by film title, genre or nationality, film star or director, or by date.