Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Photographic Collections
City of Toronto Archives: Image Search
Select "scanned photographs only" in image search to access hundreds of photographs from Toronto's history. Select advanced or simple search and use keywords or browse by date.
Corbis: Stock Photography and Pictures
Includes rights managed, but also royalty-free images Features an excellent subject search. Images can be enlarged, but have an embedded watermark.
Expo 67 in Montreal: A photo Collection about Canada's Centennial Celebration!
Hosted by the National Film Board of Canada, this archival site offers a wealth of primary documents on this iconic moment in Canadian culture. Scroll down for alphabetic list of Pavilions and Thematic Buildings to view photographs, audio and video clips, graphic design, brochures, some site and floor plans of pavilions.
Glenbow Museum: Archival Photographs
Catalogue containing 86,000 historical photographs, illustrations, cartoons and posters documenting the people, landscape and development of the Canadian West from the 1870s to the 1980s.
LIFE Photo Archive hosted by Google
Access "millions" of historic photographs from Life Magazine spanning from the 1860s to 1970s. Most were "never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google." Search by keyword, or browse by decade or subject (featured people, places, events, sports, and culture).
Multicolr Search Lab Flickr Set
Select a colour and search over 10 million Creative Commons Flickr images for photographs that predominantly feature your colour choice.
NASA Image Exchange
A web-based search engine for searching one or more of NASA's online multimedia collections. Searching is performed using keywords.
New York Public Library Digital Image Collections
A gateway to The New York Public Library’s rare and unique international holdings in digitized form, including: historic maps, rare prints and photos, illuminated manuscripts, etc.
Photography Collection: Western History
A selection of historic photographs from the collections of the Denver Public Library Western History/Genealogy Department and the Colorado Historical Society. These collections contain more than one million items and document the history of Colorado and the American West.
Historic and art photography database hosted by George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film and the International Center of Photography (ICP). Includes artists such as Wegman, Atget, Bellocq, Moholy-Nagy and more
Time & Life
"Some of the world's most recognizable imagery." This website offers content from the Time-Life photojournalists, documenting past and present political and cultural events, as well as celebrities and the American experience.