Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art History Images Collections
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
Browse using a historical timeline for images of sculpture and architecture, from ancient to baroque, including pre-Columbian Meso-America and North American First Nations.
Offers videos, interviews, background information on artists and the art world. Hosted by the Indianapolis Museum of Art and includes material from the Museum of Modern Art and the PBS series “Art:21.”
Covers painting, sculpture, photography, video and digital art, architecture, and decorative arts. Search or browse for images by Movement, Medium or Subject.
"Europe's digital library, archive and museum" of over 20 million books, paintings, films, recordings, photographs and archival records in 29 languages from 2,200 partner organizations, including most national collections such as the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, the Kunsthistorisches Museum.
History of Visual Communication
Offers a theme-based approach to the history of visual communication using examples from pre-history to the present age. Anonymously posted, but an excellent creative source for inspiration.
Medieval Mauscripts Collection
Leeds University: Search through fifty bound volumes of manuscripts created between the 12th and 15th centuries. View high resolution images, but downloading requires purchase.
Offers thematically-based images that explore "contemporary representations and self-representations of women — how they are figured, fashioned, turned into portraits." Based on a collaborative exhibition held at Bryn Mawr College, the Library Company of Philadelphia, and the Rosenbach Museum & Library.
Web Gallery of Art
Virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1100 to 1850), currently containing over 14,500 reproductions.
Walters Art Museum: Works of Art
Access almost 10,000 creative commons licensed images of works of art and design from all time periods and cultures. Browse by category, medium, places, or use the toggle bar timeline feature to browse by chronological period. Most images are in "medium" resolution.
British Library: Online Gallery
"This website showcases thousands of items from the British Library." Includes over 90 000 images and sounds as well as maps; historical and contemporary, exhibitions and collections.
Royal Academy of Arts: Winter Exhibition Catalogues 1870-1939
Browse the Royal Academy Winter Exhibition catalogues from their inception in 1870 through to 1939. Use "Search within the Catalogue" box to search for artists, titles and lenders within the digitized collections.
Digital South Asia Library
Produced by the American Institute of Indian Studies, this database is organized into four separate collections, architecture, sculpture, paintings and numismatics. The web version of the AIIS photograph archive has combined these four collections into one for ease of searching and display. There is an option to limit a search to one or more of these original designations.
Otis Collections Online: Artists' Books
Otis College of Art : Offers access to 2,000 faculty and student works, public engagement projects and images of covers and contents of selected artists books. Artists' books are searchable by artists, theorists, groups, movements or institutions.
World Art Treasures
Berger Foundation : Contains more than 100,000 images of Western European, Chinese, Japanese and Indian painting, sculpture, and architecture.
White House Art
White House Historical Association: Search or browse over two hundred portraits, landscapes, historical scenes, sculpture, and other works of art from the White House Collection. Includes portraits of all presidents and first ladies. Users must register to download images.
Vatican Basilicas and Papel Chapels
Offers a "virtual tour" of the various Vatican churches, including the Necropolis, and Sistine and Pauline Chapels.
Offers "virtual tours" of the various Vatican museums.