Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Source Encyclopedias
Search this impressive collection of reference resources. Includes biographical and quotation dictionaries, as well as the King James Bible, works of verse by famous International poets, ancient Greek and Roman histories. Also includes full-text versions of classic fiction and non-fiction books, including Mark Twain, Charles Darwin, and many more. Fully searchable and highly recommended.
Canadian Encyclopedia Online
Search or browse this concise encyclopedia of Canadian culture. Most major artists and movements are represented.
The Catholic Encyclopedia
Offers detailed information on artists and architecture associated with the Roman Catholic Church. Entries are comprehensive, but do not include images. Search by keyword or browse the alphabetic index.
Country Studies ( Library of Congress )
Search by keyword or browse full text e-books originally published by the Federal Research Division. Provides historical information, current events, demographic and economic profiles of 102 countries and regions are covered. Notable omissions include Canada, France, the United Kingdom, and other Western nations, as well as a number of African nations.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
Search for biographical information on people living in Canadian territory from the periods 1000 to 1930. Offers the same material as the print version produced by the Department of Canadian Heritage. Offers some images and web links.
Gay, Lesbian, Transgender & Queer Encyclopedia
Use keyword search for extensive coverage of biographies, as well as themes and history of LGBT culture. Includes "Arts" and "Literature" pages with information listed by topic.
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a non-profit organization featuring regularly updated original contributions by specialized philosophers around the Internet; includes citation information.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Started in 1995 this peer refereed journal is hosted by Stanford University. Every entry is linked to previously archived entries. Entries are arranged alphabetically by topic in a table of contents.
World Factbook (CIA)
Access extensive information on individual countries, including demographics, geographical, and economic data.