Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online
Full text articles, images from Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and other art and design reference resources.
Berg Fashion Library
Offers cross-searchable access to a broad range of Berg publications, including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online. Contains textual and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.
AHR net (Art History Research net)
AHR net provides full text access to digitized historical art periodicals from the US and Europe, biographies of artists and designers, and a design and architecture abstracts database. AHR consists of four related databases:
- Arts + Architecture Profiles - Includes biographical data on over 35,000 artists, architects, craftspeople and designers
- ReVIEW - provides access to digitized art periodicals published between the 1870s and the early 1920s
- Design Abstracts Retrospective - Contains article level records and abstracts or summaries from architecture and design journals published between 1900-1988.
- The Poster - Contains a biographical and online survey of the history of the poster along with related digitized books, exhibition catalogues and journals published between 1890 - 1920.
Inclusive Design Toolkit
Open source guide to accessible, inclusive, universal design.
Full text access to more than 170,000 ebooks representing all academic subject areas. Includes the Academic Complete collection which contains titles from more than 200 leading university and academic presses. Help Guide
Global Marketing Information Database (GMID)
Full text statistics, demographic information, reports, research on international markets. Search or browse by country, consumer, industry.
NOTE: Due to budgetary constraints, OCAD U no longer licenses this resource
Statistics, demographic information, Gallup polls 1945 - 89.
Includes land-based vector data (water, cultural features, etc.), census geography, orthophotography, and more. User Guide
Including academic journals, magazines, newspapers
ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection
This collection provides full-text access to more than 400 journals and magazines with subject coverage of design, crafts, architecture, philosophy and history. It includes the art and design indexes ARTbibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index and the International Bibliography of Art.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Offers citations to journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Coverage is generally from the 1930s to the present.
Art and Architecture Source
Combines content from Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984), Art & Architecture Complete. Provides access to more than 630 international full-text journals and thousands of images, books and magazine articles.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete
Some full text newspaper, magazine, academic journal articles from Canadian and international publications. Includes Canadian Art Magazine.
JSTOR Advanced Search
The JSTOR archive includes the backfile content of more than 2,500 research journals in a variety of disciplines. OCAD U Library currently subscribes to fourteen JSTOR archival collections: Arts & Sciences I – XIII and Life Sciences (includes Biological and Health & General Science) collections. As part of JSTOR’s agreement with publishers current issues are not typically available on the platform (often the most recent 2 – 5 years) but may be accessible through other library databases.
The SAGE Journals platform provides full-text access to more than 700 current peer-reviewed journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. The Library has additionally acquired various journal backfile packages and as a result most journals are available from volume 1, issue 1 to present, otherwise journal coverage is from 1999 present.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Citations to articles from core design journals from all disciplines (industrial, interior, illustration, graphic, typography, etc.).
Wiley Online Journals
Full text access to peer-reviewed journal articles from social science, science, engineering, materials, architectural design journals. Journal article coverage is typically 1997 - Present.
Cambridge Journals Online
Note current access to Cambridge journals is cancelled effective January 2018. The Library retains access to journal issues published between 2007 - 2017
Includes more than 300 journals published by Cambridge University Press with coverage typically from between 2007 - 2017. Full text peer-reviewed journal articles in all subject areas.
ARTstor Digital Library
Images of art and design from pre-history to contemporary art, in addition to content from science and social science disciplines. This resource now includes the instructional images from the OCAD U Image Library selected by faculty and librarians. Register for an account using your OCAD U email address to select and download images.
Images, descriptions, contact information for materials and manufacturers. Browse of search by application, material properties, country of original.
Free online materials database.
Material Explorer (Materia)
Open Source database offering a knowledge bank of innovative materials and their applications with an emphasis on architecture and design.
Canadian Architect and Builder (CAB)
Published between 1888 and 1908 and is the only professional architectural journal published in Canada before World War I. Beautifully filled with photographs, drawings, advertisements and valuable articles, CAB provides a wealth of information on the state of architecture and building in Canada during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. It is also of immense historical importance as a cultural treasure that makes up part of the Canadian heritage.